Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Site-wide links


Connecting Campus to Community through Research & Scholarship  
Co-sponsored by FCDS and College of Liberal Arts, Tim Eaton, Imagining America Co-Director and Syracuse University Assistant Professor is coming to RIT on May 27-28. RIT faculty will learn about engaged research, teaching and scholarship in a unique, collaborative way with the Rochester community.  Read more.

Faculty Mentoring Grant | Faculty Mentoring

Faculty Mentoring Grants

Grants have been awarded for the 2014-2015 year.  Check back in fall 2015 for information on next year's grants.

  • Applications will be accepted beginning October 1, 2014.
  • Application Deadline: Friday, November 7, 2014, 5 pm

Each peer-mentoring or other faculty mentoring group at RIT may request funding for one project or activity each academic year. Requests of $500 to $2,000 will be considered. The mentoring projects or activities for which you are requesting grant funds must be related to teaching excellence, dissemination of scholarly works, or grant proposal development. The goal is for you to participate in activities or projects that will help your mentoring group be successful. Activities related to general professional development activities/projects will not be considered.

Projects or activities may include: guest speakers, site visits to a corporate or government entity, conference attendance, launch of an e-journal, webinar participation, workshops. See examples of previously funded grant recipients

Upon completion of the activity or project, the mentoring group will submit a brief report on its findings and may be asked to present at a future mentoring event. Any deviation from your original grant proposal submission must be approved by Julia Lisuzzo, Director of Administration, The Wallace Center (


Faculty mentors and their mentees and other RIT peer mentoring groups may apply. “Mentoring groups” are defined as groups (two or more members) that meet on a regular basis for mutual support and development. On the application you will be asked for your mentoring group's name, topic area, and meeting schedule. You may be asked to provide meeting minutes. If you are submitting a proposal for an interdisciplinary project or activity, one person should be selected as the group's leader. Full-time, tenure track and non-tenure track (lecturers, senior lecturers) teaching faculty are eligible to apply. Projects involving staff and/or part-time faculty will be considered only if the lead applicant is a full-time faculty member.

Application Process

  • Applications are due via the online application by Friday, November 7, 2014, 5 pm.
  • A review committee selected by the Provost will determine if the applicant and the project or activity meets eligibility requirements and determine the amount awarded.
  • Grant recipients will be announced at the end of November.
  • If you are awarded a grant, you will receive instructions for accessing funds and reporting on the use of your grant. Any deviation from your original grant proposal submission must be approved by Julia Lisuzzo, Director of Operations, The Wallace Center ( 585-475-2363).
  • All grant-funded projects and activities must be completed by July 1, 2015, with reports submitted no later than August 1, 2015 (extensions may be granted upon request).

Please contact with questions.


Click here to view our
Mentoring Grant Recipients