2011-2012 Academic Calendar

This is not the institute calendar for the current academic year. View the institute calendar for the current academic year.

FALL QUARTER (20111)
September 5 (Labor Day) Day, evening, and online classes begin
September 10 Saturday classes begin
September 11 (Sunday) Last day to add/drop courses
September 12 (Monday) First day to withdraw on-line (via SIS); receive a "W" grade
October 28 Last day to withdraw on-line with a "W" grade
November 11 Last day and evening classes
November 12 Last Saturday and online classes
November 14,15,16,17,18,19* Final exam week
November 20 (Sunday) Final grades due by 11:00 p.m.
November 20–27 Fall/Winter break
November 24–25 Institute closed (Thanksgiving)

Back to Top
 

WINTER QUARTER (20112)
November 28, 2011 Day, evening, and online classes begin
December 3 Saturday classes begin
December 4 (Sunday) Last day to add/drop courses
December 5 (Monday) First day to withdraw on-line (via SIS); receive a "W" grade
December 16 Last day and evening classes before break
December 17 Last Saturday and online classes before break
Dec. 18 - Jan. 8, 2012 Holiday break
Dec. 25 - Jan. 2, 2012 Institute closed
January 3 Institute re-opens
January 9 Day, evening, and online classes resume
January 14 Saturday classes resume
February 10 Last day to withdraw on-line with a "W" grade
February 24 Last day and evening classes
February 25 Last Saturday and online classes
Feb 27,28,29, Mar 1,2,3* Final exam week
March 5 (Monday) Final grades due by 11:00 p.m.
March 4-11 Winter/Spring break

Back to Top
 

SPRING QUARTER (20113)
March 12, 2012 Day, evening, and online classes begin
March 17 Saturday classes begin
March 18 (Sunday) Last day to add/drop courses
March 19 (Monday) First day to withdraw on-line (via SIS); receive a "W" grade
May 4 Last day to withdraw on-line with a "W" grade
May 18 Last day and evening classes
May 19 Last Saturday and online classes
May 21,22,23,24,25* Final exam week
May 25 (Friday) Academic Convocation and Commencement ceremonies
May 26 (Saturday) Commencement ceremonies
May 28 (Monday) Institute closed (Memorial Day)
May 29 (Tuesday) Final grades due by 11:00 p.m.
May 27 - June 3 Spring/Summer break

Back to Top
 

SUMMER QUARTER (20114)**
June 4, 2012 Day, evening, and online classes begin
June 9 Saturday classes begin
June 10 (Sunday) Last day to add/drop courses
June 11 (Monday) First day to withdraw on-line (via SIS); receive a "W" grade
July 4 (Wednesday) Institute closed (Independence Day)
July 27 Last day to withdraw on-line with a "W" grade
August 10 Last day and evening classes
August 11 Last Saturday and online classes
August 13,14,15,16,18* Final exam week
August 20 (Monday) Final grades due by 11:00 p.m.

Back to Top

* Day students can view their individual exam schedules online through SIS. Others can view the complete exam schedule at infocenter.rit.edu by selecting Exam Schedule in the public box. Students attending evening, Saturday and on-line courses should check with their instructors regarding their final exam schedules.

** Check Academic Planning at infocenter.rit.edu for summer short session (1-5 week) course dates.

Revised 1/19/2011