2013-2014 Academic Calendar

FALL SEMESTER (2131)
August 20 - 25 New Student Orientation (tentative)
August 26 (Monday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 6-day Add/Drop period †
August 31 Saturday classes begin
September 2 (Monday) Labor Day (no classes) Institute offices closed
September 3 (Tuesday) Last day of 6-day Add/Drop period †
September 4 First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
October 14 No classes - Institute offices open
October 15 (Tuesday) Classes follow a Monday schedule
November 15 (Friday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" *
November 27 No classes - Institute offices open
November 28-29 Thanksgiving Holiday - Institute closed
November 30 No Saturday classes
December 2 Day, evening, and online classes resume
December 7 Saturday classes resume
December 11 Last day, evening, and online classes
December 12 Reading Day (prepare for exams)
December 14 Last Saturday classes
Dec. 13,16,17,18,19 Final exams
December 20 Residence halls close
Dec. 20 - Jan. 1 Break between Fall Semester and Intersession
December 23 Final grades due
Dec. 25 - Jan. 1 RIT closed for the Holidays

Back to Top
 

INTERSESSION (2133)
January 2 (Thursday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period
January 6 Last day of Add/Drop
January 7 First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
January 10 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
January 20 Residence halls open
January 22 Last day of classes
January 23 Final exams
January 24 Break between Intersession and Spring Semester

Back to Top
 

SPRING SEMESTER (2135)
January 27 Day, evening and online classes begin
First day of 6-day Add/Drop period †
February 1 Saturday classes begin
February 3 (Monday) Last day of 6-day Add/Drop period †
February 4 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
March 24 - 28 No classes (Spring Break) RIT open
March 29 No Saturday classes
March 31 Day, evening, and online classes resume
April 25 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" *
May 14 Last day, evening and online classes
May 15 Reading Day (prepare for exams)
May 17 Last Saturday classes
May 16,19,20,21,22 Final exams
May 23 (Friday) Convocation and Commencement ceremonies
May 24 (Saturday) Commencement ceremonies
May 26 (Monday) Memorial Day - Institute closed
May 27 (Tuesday) Final grades due
May 27 - 30 Spring/Summer break

Back to Top
 

10-week SUMMER SESSION (2138)
June 2 Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 6-day Add/Drop period †
June 7 Saturday classes begin
June 9 (Monday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
June 10 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
July 4 (Friday) Independence Day - Institute closed
July 25 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" **
August 8 Last day, evening, and online classes
August 9 Last Saturday classes
August 13 Reading Day
August 11,12,14,15 Final exams
August 18 (Monday) Final grades due
August 18 - 22 Summer/Fall break

Back to Top

5-week SUMMER SESSION (2138) (1st five weeks)
June 2 Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 6-day Add/Drop period †
June 7 Saturday classes begin
June 9 (Monday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
June 10 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
June 24 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" (4 weeks)
July 3 Last day of classes (final exams held)
July 4 (Friday) Independence Day - Institute closed

Back to Top

5-week SUMMER SESSION (2138) (2nd five weeks)
July 7 Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 6-day Add/Drop period †
July 12 Saturday classes begin
July 14 (Monday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
July 15 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
August 1 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" (4 weeks)
August 8 Last day of classes (final exams held)

Back to Top

FALL SEMESTER (2141*)
August 19 - 24 New Student Orientation (tentative)
August 25 Day, evening, and online classes begin
   

† The Add/Drop period is the first six class days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays of the Fall and Spring terms.

* Friday of the 12th week of classes

** Friday of the 8th week of classes

Revised 11/27/2012