2015-2016 Academic Calendar

This is not the institute calendar for the current academic year. View the institute calendar for the current academic year.

FALL SEMESTER (2151)
August 18 - 23 New Student Orientation
August 24 (Monday) Day, evening and online classes begin
First day of 7-day Add/Drop period †
August 29 Saturday classes begin
August 31 (Monday) Last day of 7-day Add/Drop period †
September 1 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
September 7 (Monday) Labor Day (no classes) Institute offices closed
October 12 (Monday) No classes - Columbus Day - Institute offices open
October 13 (Tuesday) Classes follow a Monday schedule
November 13 (Friday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" *
November 25 No classes - Institute offices open
November 26-27 Thanksgiving Holiday - Institute closed
November 28 No Saturday classes
November 30 Day, evening, and online classes resume
December 5 Saturday classes resume
December 11 Last day, evening, and online classes
December 12 Last Saturday classes
Dec. 14,15,16,17,18 Final exams
December 18 Residence halls close
December 21 (Monday) Final grades due
Dec. 21 - Jan. 3 Break between Fall Semester and Intersession
Dec. 25 - Jan. 3 RIT closed for the Holidays
Back to Top
 
INTERSESSION TigerTerm℠ (2153)
January 4 (Monday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 3-day Add/Drop period
January 6 Last day of 3-day Add/Drop period
January 7 First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
January 12 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
January 18 Residence halls open
January 21 Last day of classes
January 22 Final exams
January 23, 24 Break between Intersession and Spring Semester
Back to Top
 
SPRING SEMESTER (2155)
January 25 Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 7-day Add/Drop period †
January 30 Saturday classes begin
February 1 (Monday) Last day of 7-day Add/Drop period †
February 2 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
March 21,22,23,24,25 No classes (Spring Break) RIT open
March 26 No Saturday classes
March 28 Day, evening, and online classes resume
April 22 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" *
May 13 (Friday) Last day, evening, and online classes
May 14 Last Saturday classes
May 16,17,18,19,20 Final exams (Fri. May 20, 1/2 day of exams)
May 20 (Friday) Convocation and Commencement ceremonies
May 21 (Saturday) Commencement ceremonies
May 24 (Tuesday) Final grades due
May 30 (Monday) Memorial Day - Institute closed
May 23 - 28 Break between Spring Semester and Summer Terms
Back to Top
 
10-week SUMMER TigerTerm℠ (2158)
May 31 (Tuesday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 7-day Add/Drop period
June 4 Saturday classes begin
June 7 (Tuesday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
June 8 (Wednesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
July 4 (Monday) Independence Day celebrated - Institute closed
July 22 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" **
August 5 Last day, evening, and online classes
August 6 Last Saturday classes
August 8 Reading Day (prepare for exams)
August 9,10,11,12 Final exams
August 15 (Monday) Final grades due
August 15 - 19 Summer/Fall break
Back to Top
 
5-week SUMMER TigerTerm℠ (2158) (1st five weeks)
May 31 Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 7-day Add/Drop period
June 7 (Tuesday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
June 8 (Wednesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
June 17 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" (4 weeks)
July 1 (Friday) Last day of classes (final exams held)
July 5 (Tuesday) Final grades due
Back to Top
 
5-week SUMMER TigerTerm℠ (2158) (2nd five weeks)
July 5 (Tuesday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of 7-day Add/Drop period
July 12 (Tuesday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
July 13 (Wednesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
July 29 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" (4 weeks)
August 5 Last day, evening, and online classes
August 6 Last Saturday classes
August 8 Reading Day (prepare for exams)
August 9,10,11,12 Final exams
August 15 (Monday) Final grades due
August 15 - 19 Summer/Fall break
Back to Top
 
FALL SEMESTER (2161)
August 15 - 21 New Student Orientation (tentative)
August 22 Day, evening, and online classes begin
September 5 (Monday) Labor Day (no classes) Institute offices closed
   

† The Add/Drop period is the first seven class days, excluding Sundays and holidays of the Fall and Spring terms.

* Friday of the 12th week of classes

** Friday of the 8th week of classes

Revised 7/10/2014