Department of Electrical, Computer, and Telecommunications Engineering Technology

ECTET Welcomes new Faculty

an Introduction from Mike Eastman

It is with great pleasure that I introduce you to the two newest members of our ECTET team, Dr. Sungyoung Kim and Dr. Miguel Bazdresch. They join the faculty as tenure-track assistant professors.

Dr. Sungyoung Kim, Ph.D.

Dr. Kim will be taking a leadership position in the continued development of our audio course offerings. He received his Ph.D. from McGill University, Montreal Canada. Dr. Kim studied the interaction of capturing methods and musical content and their influence on the listener's preference of multichannel-delivered sound fields. Dr. Kim was invited to Yamaha Corporation to research various rendering methods for listeners' enhanced auditory impressions. Dr. Kim has been employed as a broadcasting audio engineer with the Korean Broadcasting System (KBS), Seoul, Korea. His recent interests cover the auditory depth control integrated with 3-D visual display, the perceptual process and the associated attributes that provide convincing immersive sound fields, the brain response to immersive sound field, and the training methods of faster acquisition of critical listening ability.

Dr. Migue Bazdresch, Ph.D.

Dr. Bazdresch comes to us from ITESO University in Mexico where he was an Associate Professor. He will be researching and teaching in the area of wireless communications within the MS Telecommunications program and developing new advanced wireless coursework. Dr. Bazdresch received his Ph.D. from Ecole Nationale Superieure des Telecommunications, Paris, France His research interests include digital communications, wireless communications, error-control coding, space-time coding and hardware implementation of communication algorithms. Dr. Bazdresch is an active member of IEEE.

Please join me in welcoming these two outstanding additions to the ECTET faculty!

Mike Eastman


Professor Mike Eastman
ECTET Department Chair