Site-wide links

Rochester Institute of Technology logo

These materials are copyright Rochester Institute of Technology.

Copyright, disclaimer, and contact information, available via the links in the footer of our site.

Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships

Incoming Undergraduate Students

Step 1--Determining EligibilityStep 2--FAFSAStep 3--SARStep 4--TAPStep 5--What's Next?Step 6--Award Checklist

Step 4—New York State Tuition Assistance Program (TAP)

In addition to New York State, other state grants may be awarded by Vermont, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, Michigan, and District of Columbia. Once you have applied and you have been approved by your state, funds will be sent directly to RIT.

If you are not a resident of New York, please skip to Step 5—What's Next?.

New York State Tuition Assistance Program (TAP) and Scholarships are for students meeting residence, income, academic, or other requirements, as established by state law. As a result of completing the FAFSA, your information will be forwarded to the New York State Higher Education Services Corporation (NYSHESC). Electronic FAFSA filers who meet New York State residency requirements and who have listed a New York State college will be given an electronic link on the FAFSA website in order to complete their NYS Express Tap Application (ETA). Paper FAFSA filers will be sent their ETA by mail if the student is a first-time state award recipient or if NYSHESC requires additional information to process their application. The school code for RIT undergraduate students applying for TAP is 0650.

Upon completion, you will be notified by NYSHESC of your award. Although an estimate of your eligibility may be included on your RIT award letter, the state’s notification is your official approved award. If you need to make any corrections, follow the directions on the Change Form provided by NYSHESC. It is recommended that you keep a copy of the Change Form. If you need a duplicate ETA or Change Form you may contact NYSHESC at 1-888-NYS-HESC (1-888-697-4372) or by logging into your NYSHESC account.

Academic requirements for New York State programs differ from requirements for RIT or federal aid programs. Academic eligibility is reviewed at the completion of each semester a state award is received. Minimum state requirements for credit hour accumulation and grade point average are published in the RIT Undergraduate Bulletin.

Most New York State awards require full-time status of twelve or more credits per semester. Students meeting all other state requirements may repeat classes in which a failing grade was initially received. This does not hold true in situations where a recipient wishes to repeat a successfully completed course to improve the initial grade. In this situation the repeated course does not count towards the twelve-credit minimum, and the state award might be subject to retroactive cancellation when the repeated course is identified.

In addition to New York State TAP, some students may be awarded additional state sponsored awards such as the Academic Excellence Scholarship or the Persian Gulf Benefit. The total of all state awards will be reflected as a TAP grant on your award letter.

Go to Step 5—What's Next?