Staff Council Standing Committees

The Executive Committee includes the Chair, Vice Chair, Communications Officer and Events Officer and 4 At-Large members.  The EC serves as liaison between Staff Council and the RIT administration and prepares the agenda for full Staff Council meetings.

Lauren Shields – Chair
Raman Bhalla – Vice Chair
Jen Prosceo – Communications Officer
Anne Zachmeyer– Events Officer
Donna Black
Kathleen Schreier Rudgers
Paul Smarsh
Dave Woodhams

The Communications Committee keeps constituents updated and informed about Staff Council accomplishments and activities by proactively gathering and disseminating information in a timely and effective manner through the Staff Council website, newsletters, meeting minutes, and other media.

Jen Prosceo – Communications Officer and
Katrina Rex – Chair
Cathy Clarke
Kerry Hughes
Elizabeth Lamark
Andy Schewe
Rupa Thind

The Elections and Representation Committee conducts all Staff Council elections, and is responsible for reviewing voting block ratios and the nomination process.

Kathleen Schreier Rudgers – EC Liaison
Kevin de la Sota
JoEllen Shaffer
Deb Spencer

The Events Committee is responsible for the planning and execution of the Staff Recognition Awards Ceremony & Reception, the Staff Appreciation Day & Community Picnic, and other events as assigned by Staff Council.

Anne Zachmeyer – Events Officer   
Dave Woodhams – EC Liaison
Barb Gasbarre
Gail Quartieri
Monica Thompson
Wendy Wheeler

The Institute Issues & Policies Committee reviews issues that are of concern to a significant number of RIT Staff, and is responsible for recommending appropriate courses of action to Staff Council for consideration.  it is also responsible for reviewing, critiquing and making recommendations regarding new or revised RIT policies that are brought to Staff Council for consideration. In addition, the committee reviews any policy brought to its attention by members of the RIT community and/or makes recommendations for new policies as situations arise.

Donna Black – EC Liaison
Paul Smarsh – EC Liaison
Jeremy Babcock
Joanne Bagley
Karen Ester
Mark Haldeman
Renee Milliken
Justyna Oldziej

Staff committee on matters pertaining to university resources. The committee will seek to understand the university’s decision-making process regarding university resources; will gather information about specific allocations as directed by Staff Council; and will report their findings to Staff Council and/or make recommendations for the Council’s consideration.

Lauren Shields – EC Liaison
Mindy Blake
Sharon Kompalla-Porter
Sandy Whitmore

*Pilot committee


Staff Council University Committee Appointees

403-B Advisory Group – no term limit
James Macchiano

Campus Aesthetics Committee – no term limit
Lydia Palmer

Diversity Committee of Academic Senate
Henry Hinesley

Diversity Committee of the Board of Trustees
Raman Bhalla

Individual Conflict of Interest / Commitment Committee
Robyn Reafler – 3 year term ending 6/16
Jeremy Babcock – 3 year term ending 6/17
TBD - 3 year term ending 6/18

Institute Budget Hearings – one year term
Lauren Shields, Raman Bhalla

University Council – one year term
Raman Bhalla, Donna Black, Lauren Shields, Paul Smarsh, Dave Woodhams, Anne Zachmeyer, Elizabeth Lamark, Sharon Kompalla-Porter, Jennifer Prosceo, Gail Quartieri, Kathleen Schreier Rudgers

University Council Alternates – one year term
Karen Ester, Renee Milliken, Sandra Whitmore

Intellectual Property Policy Committee – 3 year term
Julia Lisuzzo – 2013/14 – 2015/16

Isaac L. Jordan Sr. Pluralism Award Selection Committee – 1 year

Ombuds Advisory Committee – 2 year term 
Exempt: Kurt Ingerick – 2014/15 – 2015/16 (2nd term)
Non-Exempt: TBD – 2015/16 – 2016/17

Outstanding Teaching Award for Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Selection Committee – 1 year term

Oversight Committee for Sponsored Projects – three year term
Betsy Saxe – 3 year term ending 6/17

Parking Advisory Group – 2 year term
TBD – 2013/14 – 2014/15
Barb Gasbarre – 2014/15 – 2015/16

Parking Appeals Board – 2 year term; max 2 consecutive terms
TBD – 2015/16-2016/17 (1st term)
Debbie Spencer – 2014/15-2015/16 (1st term)

Staff Recognition Awards Selection Committee
Justyna Oldziej