Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Site-wide links

Four Presidents Distinguished Public Service Award

The Four Presidents Distinguished Public Service Award Fund was created by Alfred L. Davis on the occasion of the 65th year of his association with RIT, to commemorate the dedication of the four RIT presidents with whom he worked, in their service to the Rochester community. The purpose of this award is to honor the four presidents, Mark Ellingson, Paul Miller, M. Richard Rose, and Albert Simone, with whom Mr. Davis served at RIT, and to recognize a current member of the faculty or staff who, through his/her public service, mirrors the lives of the four presidents, who have been not only outstanding professionals but also caring members of the community.

Award Criteria

The award recognizes service over and above an individual’s regular institutional responsibilities, which provides a benefit beyond the university and has a significant impact on the Rochester community, as evidenced by some, or all, of the following:

  • Evidence of extensive and diverse public service;
  • Evidence that the individual is an important and participating member of the organization(s) served;
  • Service as a board member or in a leadership role (e.g. president, etc.)*;
  • Extensive service at the grassroots level*;
  • A sustained commitment and service to one or more organizations over an extended period of time;

 *The Selection Committee will give equal consideration to grassroots service and leadership service.

Requirements for Consideration

Nominators must submit the following in order for a nominee to be given full consideration**:

  • A completed current nomination form.
  • At least one letter of recommendation; more are encouraged. At least one letter should come from the service(s) impacted.
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV) or Resume

**Nominators are encouraged to be in contact with the individual being nominated to collect and provide comprehensive information to support the nomination.


View Past Recipients