athenaeum logo

RIT announces new board members

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

RIT has added five new members to its Board 
of Trustees. 

Irene Taylor Brodsky is an Emmy and Peabody award-winning producer, director, writer and cinematographer whose documentaries have shown theatrically at film festivals and on television worldwide. Brodsky’s most recent film, The Final Inch, was nominated for a 2009 Academy Award for documentary short subject. 

Richard Kaplan is president and CEO of Pictometry International Corp., a rapidly growing visual information systems company headquartered in Rochester. He is the former president of Richland Industries Inc. and Max Pies Floor Coverings, a retail floor covering chain. 

Gen. Roosevelt “Ted” Mercer Jr. is vice president and director of intelligence at ITT Space Systems Division. He retired from the U.S. Air Force in 2008. Prior to joining ITT Space Systems, Mercer was director of plans and policy for U.S. Strategic Command at Offutt Air Force Base in Nebraska. Among his duties were the development and implementation of national security policy and guidance, and the development of America’s strategic war plan.

Lella Vignelli is the chief executive officer of Vignelli Associates and the president of Vignelli Designs, a company dedicated to product and furniture design. The graphic and product designs created by Lella Vignelli and her husband, Massimo, are icons of international design. Her work is widely featured in design publications.

Massimo Vignelli is the president of Vignelli Associates and chief executive officer of Vignelli Designs, which he operates with his wife, Lella. His work includes graphic and corporate identity programs, publication designs, architectural graphics, and exhibition, interior, furniture, and consumer product designs for many leading American and European companies and institutions. 

The Vignelli’s work has been published and exhibited throughout the world and entered in the permanent collections of several museums; notably, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Brooklyn Museum, and the Cooper-Hewitt Museum in New York; the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Montreal; and the Die Neue Sammlung 
in Munich.