RIT Home | RIT Search | Directories 
header image
 Current Issue | Issue Dates & Deadlines | University News | Archives
spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer May 18, 2007

Faculty earn distinguished provost’s grants and trustees scholarships


Michael Amy


Amit Batabyal


Bruce Smith

This year’s recipients of the Trustees Scholarship Awards have clearly demonstrated records of excellent scholarship at RIT over at least a three-year period.

Michael Amy, associate professor of art history, foundations department, College of Imaging Arts and Sciences. Amy joined RIT in 2000, and his research interests include the Renaissance and contemporary art. In addition, Amy has received the 2006 Gitner Family Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Communication.

Amitrajeet Batabyal, Arthur J. Gosnell Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts.

Batabyal joined RIT in 2000 and currently conducts research in environmental economics, natural resource economics, ecological economics, development economics, international trade theory, and the interface of economics with philosophy and political science.

Additionally, he has received several grants from the Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics, Utah Agricultural Experiment Station and the United States Department of Agriculture.

Bruce Smith, Intel Professor of Microelectronic Engineering, Kate Gleason College of Engineering.

Smith joined RIT in 1988 and is currently the director of RIT’s Center for Nanolithography Research. Smith has published numerous research papers and is co-author of Microlithography: Science and Technology. Research interests include optical nanolithography and fabrication of semiconductor devices and systems. In 1999, he received RIT’s first Creator’s Award for success as an inventor. He was recently named a fellow of SPIE, formerly the International Society for Optical Engineering.

The 2007-2008 Provost’s Learning and Innovations Grant Program encourages faculty-initiated projects that directly target learning outcomes and student success.

The committee, whose membership includes a representative from each college, finalized the award winners.

Award recipients are: Alex Bitterman, graphic design; Neil Hair, marketing; Paul Craig, chemistry; Richard Doolittle, medical science; Susan Barnes, communication; Ron Hira and James Winebrake, public policy; Dina Newman, Harvey Pough and Kate Wright, biological sciences; Lisa Hermsen, Institute Writing Committee; Steven Ciccarelli, electrical, computer and telecommunications engineering technology; Beth Carle and William Leonard, manufacturing and mechanical engineering technology/packaging science; P.R. Mukund, electrical engineering; Sudhakar Paidy, industrial and systems engineering; Pratapa Reddy and Dhireesha Kudithipudi, computer engineering; Jim Perkins, medical illustration; Jonathan Schull and Jay Alan Jackson, information technology; and Margaret Bailey, mechanical engineering.


University News Services. 132 Lomb Memorial Dr., Bldg. 86 Rochester, NY 14623
© Rochester Institute of Technology. All Rights Reserved.
Issue Credits | Questions/Comments? | Terms of Use
Phone: 585-475-5064, Fax: 585-475-5097