Walls-Olson Scholarship Winners Announced

Ten RIT students to receive leadership award

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

The recipients of Rochester Institute of Technology’s 2008-2009 Walls-Olson Scholarship were announced in early December, at the beginning of RIT’s winter quarter.

The Walls-Olson scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate strong leadership skills and active involvement in student affairs. Mr. and Mrs. A. Arthur Gorfain established the scholarship in 1969. It was founded in appreciation for the interest that RIT faculty/staff members A. Stephen Walls and Beverly Olson expressed for their son, Neil, while he was an RIT student.

This year’s winners come from a variety of majors and were selected from 21 applications. Each student has received funds towards their education at RIT based on their demonstration of leadership and involvement on campus.

The winners are: Emily Hughes (international business and marketing), Bryan DiCarlo (networking, security, and systems administration), Xue Zhou Hou (biology), Matthew Danna (information technology), Laura Birdsall (biological sciences), Anthony Blatner (computer engineering), David Burke (civil engineering technology), Carlos Cornejo Rojas (international business), Jennifer Kolling and Arricka Nowland (American Sign Language interpretation),

Wells-Olson Scholarship recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony in April.