Faculty and Staff Nominated for 2009 Isaac L. Jordan Diversity Award

Ceremony to announce winner is March 30 in Ingle Auditorium

Follow Michelle Cometa on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

Rochester Institute of Technology will recognize several prominent faculty and staff members who have been nominated for the 2009 Isaac L. Jordan Diversity Award. The award is given annually to acknowledge their work in the area of promoting pluralism, inclusion and diversity initiatives on campus.

The award will be given at a ceremony at 10 a.m., Monday, March 30, in the Ingle Auditorium in the Student Alumni Union. This celebration is part of the opening day activities of the annual Expressions of Diversity Conference.

Nominees for the Isaac L. Jordan Award are:

  • Margaret Bailey, the Kate Gleason Endowed Chair and associate professor, Kate Gleason College of Engineering, director of WE @ RIT (the Women in Engineering program)

  • Renee Baker, manager of faculty recruitment, department of human resources

  • Florinda Cardenas, health and advocacy coordinator, RIT Womens Center

  • Mary-Beth Cooper, vice president, Student Affairs Division

  • Julie Olney, program coordinator, WE @ RIT

  • Sarah Pillittere, program manager, Center for Professional Development

  • Ellie Rosenfield, associate dean for Student and Academic Services, NTID

  • Paul Shipman, assistant professor, department of biological sciences, College of Science, co-director, Future Stewards Initiative

  • Deb Spencer, human resource training and planning specialist, Center for Professional Development

  • Thomas Warfield, director of dance, assistant professor, Cultural and Creative Studies Department, National Technical Institute for the Deaf

  • Jason Younker, assistant professor, sociology and anthropology, College of Liberal Arts, co-director, Future Stewards Initiative

The award was established in 2003 and named after Isaac L. Jordan, the first chairman of the President’s Commission on Pluralism and Inclusion. As chairperson, Jordan was known for his leadership, advocacy and role in advancing pluralism among campus constituents.

The Expressions of Diversity Conference takes place March 30 to April 3; it is a weeklong series of workshops, panel discussions, arts and entertainment. The full schedule of events can be found at: www.diversity.rit.edu

WHAT: Isaac L. Jordan Faculty/Staff Awards Ceremony and Opening Address

WHEN: Monday, March 30, 2009, 10 – 11:30 a.m.

WHERE: Ingle Auditorium, Student Alumni Union, Rochester Institute of Technology

COST: Free and open to the general public

CONTACT: Michelle Cometa, chairperson, The President’s Commission on Pluralism and Inclusion

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: www.diversity.rit.edu