Innovation Hall of Fame announces first inductees

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

Photo by A. Sue Weisler

The Center for Student Innovation is one of the campus cornerstones of student creativity.

RIT has named the inductees to the inaugural class of its Innovation Hall of Fame. These individuals are alumni, faculty, staff or affiliates of RIT who have had a positive impact on society through their innovative works. Inductees are immortalized by a multimedia display in the Center for Student Innovation that highlights their accomplishments. 

The inductees to the 2010 RIT Innovation Hall of Fame are:

  • George Eastman (1854-1932): Eastman founded the world-renowned Eastman Kodak Co. and invented roll film, which made photography affordable and accessible to the mainstream public. Eastman was also a leading philanthropist of his era. Among his gifts were contributions to the Mechanics Institute, the precursor to today’s RIT.

  • John Jacob Bausch (1830-1926): Bausch discovered that vulcanized rubber could be used to make eyeglass frames, eventually becoming a pioneer in manufacturing plastics and optical instruments. His discoveries led to the establishment of the largest optical company in the world, Bausch and Lomb. Bausch is also a co-founder of the Mechanics Institute. 

  • Henry C. Lomb (1828-1908): Co-founded the Mechanics Institute to train skilled workers and replace the cumbersome apprenticeship system. His personal donations kept the school operating during its early years. He was the president of the Board of Trustees from 1885 to 1891.

  • Chester F. Carlson (1906-1968): Carlson created electrophotography, which became known as xerography and is the foundation of the worldwide copying industry. Carlson’s invention eventually brought Xerox Corp. to life. 

  • Kate Gleason (1865-1933): Gleason was a business leader, inventor and the first female member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. She serves as a role model for the engineering students studying within the RIT college named in her honor.

  • John F. Hamilton: Created the image processing algorithms that have been used in virtually every Kodak digital camera. He is currently 
a visiting professor in the College of Science. 

  • John Resig ’05: Resig is the creator and lead developer of jQuery, a new JavaScript library that has revolutionized the way the program is written. It is fast, concise and simplifies JavaScript development for rapid Web development. 

  • Wendell Castle: An American furniture artist who is often credited with being the father 
of the art furniture movement. Castle taught at RIT from 1962 to 1969 and is now an artist in residence. 

  • N. Katherine Hayles ’66: A postmodern literary critic and one of the country’s foremost authorities on digital media and literary theory encompassing new technologies.

  • James J. DeCaro: The visionary and director of the Postsecondary Education Network International, a multi-million dollar collaborative network of universities around the world that educates deaf students. He serves as interim president for the National Technical Institute for the Deaf at RIT.