Honorees announced in 2010 Institute Writing Contest

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

A. Sue Weisler

Students and faculty gather at the awards ceremony for RIT’s Institute Writing Contest. From left to write are Tyler Pugliese, winner for creative non-fiction, Christopher Ketant, winner in the creative writing category, Lisa Hermsen, chair of the Institute Writing Committee, Christine Licata, RIT senior associate provost, Ann Howard, senior associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Laura Lindsay, winner in the science and technical writing category.

RIT’s Institute Writing Committee recently announced the winners of its annual undergraduate writing contest.

Laura Lindsay, a third-year physician assistant major, was the winner in the science and technical writing category for “The Physician/PA of Faith.” Tyler Pugliese, a third-year economics major, won the creative non-fiction prize for his piece “Miranda.” Christopher Ketant, a freshman in the software engineering program, received the creative writing award for “Weapons of Mass Destruction.” Each winner received a $300 cash prize.

“Writing practice fosters higher-order thinking and cultivates critical intellectual processes like analyzing ideas, solving problems and evaluating claims,” says Lisa Hermsen, associate professor of English and the current chair of the committee. “For over three decades, the Institute Writing Committee has sought to enhance the development of writing instruction across campus, while also acknowledging the talents of our students through programs such as the writing awards.”

The Institute Writing Committee was formed in 1978 to coordinate the development of writing programs and coursework across the curriculum. The committee is chaired by the provost’s designee and made up of member representatives from each of RIT’s eight colleges, the office of the Writing Program Administrator, the Academic Support Center and the English Language Center.