National Academy Foundation honors Destler and Johnson

President and wife earn award for commitment to city youth

Follow Matt Gregory on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

RIT President Bill Destler and his wife, Rebecca Johnson, received the National Academy Foundation Making a Difference Award on Oct. 16.

RIT President Bill Destler and his wife, Rebecca Johnson, were recipients of the National Academy Foundation Making a Difference Award. The awards were presented at the seventh annual Rochester Education Foundation Partnership Awards Dinner on Oct. 16.

“We are honored to present this award to Dr. Destler and Dr. Johnson. Their commitment to city youth is a model to other community leaders,” says Patricia Braus, executive director of the Rochester Education Foundation. “Their work to support the academic success of city young people benefits our entire community.”

Destler and Johnson, associate of the university, were honored by the award for reaching out to young people and encouraging student success in STEM programs, in addition to RIT’s strong support of the National Academy Foundation program and for the creation of the Rochester City Scholars Program and the Multicultural Center for Academic Success program.

“They have taken a multifaceted approach to making a difference,” Braus says.

The Rochester Education Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to raising resources and offering programs to support the success of Rochester’s city schoolchildren. The awards publically recognize and celebrate the tangible differences that businesses, organizations, faith communities and individuals can make in the lives of urban children.

Founded in 1982, The National Academy Foundation is a leader in the movement to prepare young people for college and career success.

The awards reception also included actor Robert Forster, recipient of the Alumni Award; School No. 25 principal Deborah Lazio, recipient of the Educator Award; and Riverflow Soccer Club founder Deon Rogers, recipient of the Making a Difference Award.