RIT criminal justice students honored

Annual luncheon celebrates students with academic success

Follow Greg Livadas on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

Frank Cost

Lecturer Joe Williams with criminal justice major Avanelle St. Bernard of Brooklyn. St. Bernard received the Richard B. Lewis Award, for juniors with outstanding academic success.

Two dozen Rochester Institute of Technology criminal justice majors were honored May 8 at the Senior Luncheon and Recognition Celebration put on by the Department of Criminal Justice and the Center for Public Safety Initiatives.

Forty graduating seniors were also celebrated by faculty, staff, administrators and members of the Greater Rochester community.

“We’re not only your teachers, we see you as our friends we can mentor and support when you are out in the community,” said Criminal Justice Chair LaVerne McQuiller Williams. She hoped first-, second- and third-year students would be inspired by the work of graduating students, so they will receive awards in the years to come.

Also honored were Gary Craig, investigative reporter for the Rochester Democrat and Chronicle and adjunct instructor at RIT, and retired Livingston County Sheriff John York, who recently wrapped up a 44-year career in law enforcement.

York said law enforcement personnel have never been so visible, in danger and controversial. But the profession has its rewards.

“We can make a difference in our society,” York said. “You can make a difference.”

The students honored include:

Thomas C. Castellano Award, for seniors with outstanding academic success:

  • Rachel Cook, of Rochester, N.Y.
  • Tiffani Gatson, of Rochester, N.Y.
  • Stephanie Mackowski, of Limestone, N.Y.
  • Bradley Mayville, of Lyons, N.Y.
  • Mabel Najarro, of Marion, N.Y.
  • Aaron Pentheny, of Litchfield, N.H.

Richard B. Lewis Award, for juniors with outstanding academic success:

  • Emily Bascom, of New Hartford, N.Y.
  • John Everett, of Horseheads, N.Y.
  • Catherine Mibaum, of Rochester, N.Y.
  • Emily Shifflet, of Palmyra, N.Y.
  • Avanelle St. Bernard, of Brooklyn, N.Y.

Foucault Award, for a second-year student leader in academic and community activities:

  • Jordan Gates, of Auburn, N.H.

Goffman Award, for a first-year student leader in academic and community activities:

  • Michael Surtel, of Pittsford, N.Y.

Matthew Sullivan Memorial Scholarship:

  • Richard Barney, of Brockport, N.Y.

Shaw and McKay Award, for a master’s student who produced locally relevant research:

  • Alysia Mason, of Churchville, N.Y.

Center for Public Safety Initiatives’ Excellence in Research Award:

  • Frank Battaglini, of Fairport, N.Y.
  • Christina Burnett, of Rochester, N.Y.
  • Nathaly Cabrera Delgado, of Caracas, Venezuela.
  • Juan Fernandez Hawa, Santiago, Dominican Republic.
  • Zahal Kohistani, of Henrietta, N.Y.
  • Christopher Roberts, of Caledonia, N.Y.
  • Tayler Ruggero, of Langhorne, Pa.
  • Shakierah Smith, of Rochester, N.Y.
  • Ye (Calla) Wang, of Hangzhou, China