On Campus

Singled Out


From the Archives


Past Issues


RIT Home Search Index Directories Info-Center

Nathaniel Rochester Society

Parkes and Frenyea
John and Mary Parke, NRS President's Circle chairs, standing, with student artist Nichole Frenyea, at the annual summer gala.

The Nathaniel Rochester Society (NRS) saw its membership and attendance continue to grow during the 1998-99 year and capped off a successful 12 months with a gala in July. At the event, the NRS presented the 1999 Nathaniel Rochester Society award to Colby H. Chandler, retired president, and chairman of the board and chief executive officer of the Eastman Kodak Company. Each year, the society bestows this honor on an outstanding member of the community in recognition of his or her generous support of RIT. The award was established in 1972 and permanently endowed by charter members Marc and Kay Barbour.

A member of RIT's Board of Trustees since 1974 and now chairman emeritus, Chandler served as chairman from 1992 to 1994 and as vice chairman from 1987 to 1991. He was vice chairman of the board's Executive Committee from 1978 until 1986, and served on a number of board committees, including finance, endowment and stragetic planning. A member of the NRS President's Circle and an active benefactor, he has served on the awards, nominating and executive committees of this organization of RIT friends and ambassadors.

The society ended the fiscal year with 409 members, representing 23 states and two foreign countries. Membership at the President's Circle level ($1,000 or more) increased to 239. Attendance at NRS programs continued to increase also, attracting more than 1,400 members and guests in total for the year. In addition to the Summer Gala, notable events included the President's Circle event at the home of RIT trustee Dutch Summers and his wife, Jayne, and Imagine the Image, featuring the College of Imaging Arts and Sciences.

The following volunteers will lead the society's committees for 1999-2000: Alan and Nancy Cameros, NRS chairs; Bob and Kathy Wayland-Smith, NRS vice-chairs; Jay and Lauren Judson, awards chairs; John and Mary Parke, President's Circle chairs; Kevin, '79 and Nancy Gavagan, membership and alumni outreach chairs; NRS scholar alumni Russ Schwartzbeck '97, and Alexa Bordynski '97, alumni outreach co-chairs; Karl '63 and Sally Brust, program chairs and Pete and Sally Merrill, scholarship chairs.

The ninth annual NRS Scholar Awards Ceremony for Outstanding Academic Excellence will be held on Saturday, Oct. 9. This year the society is sponsoring NRS merit awards for 203 outstanding juniors and seniors.

For more information about the NRS, contact Marisa Psaila by phone, 716-475-4932, or by e-mail, mxp9762@rit.edu.