Site-wide links

Photo of three evaluators reviewing notes from a sign interview
Photo of three evaluators reviewing notes from a sign interview
Photo of sign classroom with instructor signing to faculty/staff class
THE
at The National Technical
Institute for the Deaf
SLPI : ASL
SIGN  LANGUAGE  PROFICIENCY  INTERVIEW : ASL

SLPI:ASL Local Coordinators in the US and Canada

This list contains my most current information on all the local SLPI:ASL Coordinators and their contact information.

If any corrections are needed, please let me know at gspncm@rit.edu.

Geoff Poor
National Technical Institute for the Deaf  (NTID)
Coordinator, National SLPI:ASL Leadership Board (NSLB)


For remote SLPI services via videophone, contact:

Cindy J. Decker-Pickell, Coordinator
National SLPI:ASL Services
1711 W. Hornes Church Road
Bailey, North Carolina  27807-9144
252-281-2369 (W)
252-281-2344 (H)
nationalslpiasl@gmail.com


The following list of local SLPI teams is organized geographically:  East/Northeast, South/Southeast, Midwest, Southwest, West, and Canada

East/Northeast

Geoffrey S. Poor
Professor and Coordinator
Office of Communication Assessment Services (OCAS)
National Technical Institute for the Deaf</strong>
Rochester Institute of Technology

52 Lomb Memorial Drive
Rochester, New York  14623-5604
585-475-6282 (V/VP), x5225 (Fax)
gspncm@rit.edu
    
Pam Rohring
St. Mary's School for the Deaf</strong>

2253 Main Street
Buffalo, New York 14214
(716) 834-7200 ext. 232
PAM@smsdk12.org

Adele Agin, LCSW
Executive Director, SCPI Coordinator
Lexington Vocational Services Center, Inc.

Lexington Center for Mental Health Services
30th Avenue & 75th Street
Jackson Heights, New York  11370
718-350-3110 (V/T), x3072 (Fax), x3031 (VP)
aagin@lexnyc.org, adeleagin@aol.com

Jessica Valenti
St. Francis De Sales
Sign Language Dept.

260 Eastern Pkwy
Brooklyn, New York 11225
718-636-4573 ext. 112
jvalenti@sfdesales.org

Dr. Marjorie Harrington, Chair
Department of Deaf Education
Canisius College

2001 Main Street
Buffalo, New York  14208-1098
harringm@canisius.edu
716-888-2261, 716-888-3142 (Fax)

Paul Schreyer
SLPI Coordinator
Massachusetts Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

150 Mt. Vernon Street, Suite 550
Boston, Massachusetts
pschreyer@sprint.blackberry.net

Kim Arrigo
Staff Interpreter
New Jersey School for the Deaf

320 Sullivan Way
West Trenton, New Jersey 08628
kim.arrigo@mksd.org
609 498 7948  VP
609 530 2332 voice

Western Pennsylvania School for the Deaf (WPSD)
300 Swissvale Avenue
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania  15218-1469
Contact: Todd Behanna
(570) 309-0173 VP, (412) 244-4211     Fax
tbehanna@wpsd.org


South/Southeast

Sharon Lott
Central Piedmont Community College

Cato campus, Room 214
Box 35009
Charlotte, North Carolina 28235
Email: Sharon.lott@cpcc.edu
VP: 704.469.5910
Fax: 704-330-4850

Kimberly Curtis, NIC
SLPI Coordinator
Kentucky School for the Deaf

303 South Second Street
PO Box 27
Danville, KY 40423-0027
859-936-6783 Voice
859-439-0043 VP
kimberly.curtis@ksd.kyschools.us
http://www.ksd.k12.ky.us

Claudia Mals, SLPI Coordinator
West Virginia School for the Deaf

301 East Main Street
Romney, West Virginia 26757
cmals@k12.wv.us

Claire Bailey, Director
Department of Sign Language Communication
South Carolina School for the Deaf & Blind

335 Cedar Springs Road
Cedar Springs Station
Spartanburg, South Carolina  29302-4699
864-577-7515 (V/TTY), x7649 (Fax),
864-585-3555 (fax)     cbailey@scsdb.k12.sc.us

Cindy J. Decker-Pickell, Coordinator
National SLPI:ASL Services

1711 W. Hornes Church Road
Bailey, North Carolina  27807-9144
252-281-2369 (W)
252-281-2344 (H)
nationalslpiasl@gmail.com

Kathy Campbell CI & CT
Interpreter Coordinator/SLPI:ASL Coordinator

kathy.campbell@vsdb.k12.va.us
And
Rhonda Jennings BS MA
ASL Instructor/Specialist 

rhonda.jennings@vsdb.k12.va.us
rlj224@gmail.com
Virginia School for the Deaf and the Blind
PO Box 2069 Staunton, Virginia 24441

Michelle Swaney
Administrative Coordinator/Technology Specialist
Center on Deafness/PEPNet-South
University of Tennessee

239 Bailey Education Complex
1122 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, Tennessee 37996-3442
(865) 974-0607
mswaney@utk.edu

Damita Boyd
Sign Language Interpreting Program    
Georgia Perimeter College

Clarkston Campus
555 N. Indian Creek Drive
Clarkston, Georgia  30021
678-891-3605
678-8913608 fax
Damita.Boyd@gpc.edu

Keri Meeks
Georgia School for the Deaf

232 Perry Farm Road, SW
Cave Spring, Georgia 30124
706-777-2238, x2200 (main),
800-497-3371, x2204 (Fax)
talalahlkm@aol.com

Catherine Arasi
Director of Interpreter Services
Florida School for the Deaf & the Blind

207 North San Marco Avenue
St. Augustine, Florida 32084
arasic@fsdb.k12.fl.us
904-827-2930 (V), X2506 (Fax)
904-201-4491 (VP)
And
Katie Bechtold
bechtoldk@fsdb.k12.fl.us
904-827-2223 (V), X2506 (Fax)
904-201-4493 (VP)

Charlene Crump
State Coordinator, Interpreting/Communication Access
Office of Deaf Services
Alabama Department of Mental Health

P. O. Box 301410
Montgomery, Alabama 36130
charlene.crump@mh.alabama.gov
www.mhit.org
334-353-7415 (voice)
334.242.0796 (fax)
And
Shannon Reese
shannon.reese@mh.alabama.gov; 334-239-3780 VP

Alla Tarasyuk
SLPI Coordinator
Louisiana School for the Deaf

2888 Brightside Lane
Baton Rouge, Louisiana  70821
VP (225)341-6528
atarasyuk@lalsd.org

 

Midwest

Molly Estes
The Ohio School for the Deaf

500 Morse Road
Columbus, Ohio  43214-1899
614.678.5442 (videophone)
EstesM@osd.oh.gov

Jennifer Berrigan
SLPI Coordinator
Michigan Department of Education-Low Incidence Outreach

702 W Kalamazoo Street
PO Box 30742
Lansing, Michigan 48909
VP/Voice: 970 515 7737
Text Number: (517) 897-3943
Fax Number: (517) 335-1632
E-Mail: berriganj@michigan.gov
http://mde-lio.cenmi.org
    
Mary Cashman-Bakken
Director/Specialist
Minnesota Resource Center:  Deaf/Hard-of-Hearing

Division of Special Education
615 Olof Hanson Drive
Fairbault, Minnesota  55021-0308
800-657-3936 (V/T)
866-575-1105 (VP), 507-332-5494 (Fax)
mary.cashman-bakken@state.mn.us

Amy Amundsen
SLPI Coordinator/Interpreter
Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf

615 Olof Hanson Drive
Faribault Minnesota  55021
507-384-6665 V; 507.412.5082
amy.amundsen@msad.state.mn.us

Sharon Egbert
Communication Coordinator
Missouri School for the Deaf (MSD)

505 East 5th Avenue
Fulton, Missouri 65251
(866) 412-0497 (VP)
(573) 592-2522 (V)
(573) 592-2570 (fax)
sharon.egbert@msd.dese.mo.gov

 

Southwest

Joyce Scott, M.Ed.
Arkansas Rehabilitation Services

26 Corporate Hill Drive
Little Rock, Arkansas  72205
501-686-9688 v/tty
501-686-9685 fax
Joyce.Scott@Arkansas.gov

Emmett Hassen
Licensing & Certification Coordinator
Arizona Commission for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing (ACDHH)

100 N. 15th Avenue, Suite 104
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
602-542-3323 v/tty
e.hassen@acdhh.az.gov

 

West

Cindy Woodrum
California State Bilingual Coordinator

10186 Atlantis Drive
Elk Grove, California 95624
cwoodrum@mac.com
(916) 548-1459

 

Canada (Nova Scotia and New Brunwsick)

Amy Parsons
Educational Interpreter Consultant
Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority (APSEA)

5940 South Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia  B3H 1S6
aparsons@apsea.ca