SANS Tip-of-the-Day

Subscribe to SANS Tip-of-the-Day feed SANS Tip-of-the-Day
Security Awareness Tip of The Day
Updated: 1 hour 23 min ago

Shopping Online

Mon, 06/29/2015 - 22:45
When shopping online, always use your credit cards instead of a debit card. If any fraud happens, it is far easier to recover your money from a credit card transaction. Gift cards and one-time-use credit card numbers are even more secure.

Conversations

Thu, 06/25/2015 - 11:55
When traveling, it is very easy to forget where you are when discussing business with colleagues. That airport, taxi, restaurant or hotel lobby may have individuals nearby eavesdropping on your conversation. When discussing confidential information, agree to hold off on the conversation until you can be assured of privacy. Also, be careful not to share sensitive information with strangers you meet.

Go With Passphrases

Wed, 06/24/2015 - 12:37
Passphrases are the strongest type of passwords and the easiest to remember. Simply use an entire sentence for your password, such as "What time is coffee?" By using spaces and punctuation, you create a long password that is hard to guess but easy to remember.

Secure Your Home Wi-Fi Router

Tue, 06/23/2015 - 17:47
The most effective steps you can take to secure your wireless network at home is to change the default admin password, enable WPA2 encryption and use a strong password for your wireless network.

Periodically check your credit report

Sun, 06/21/2015 - 21:45

Patch and update on a regular basis

Thu, 06/18/2015 - 22:35

Don't buy anything from a spammer

Mon, 06/15/2015 - 23:32

Don't tell ANYONE your password

Sun, 06/14/2015 - 22:29

Use a password protected screen saver

Sat, 06/13/2015 - 00:09

Make your password complex.

Wed, 06/10/2015 - 23:19

Protect Yourself from Identity Theft

Mon, 06/08/2015 - 23:11

Pages