Staff Council Standing Committees

The Executive Committee includes the Chair, Vice Chair, Communications Officer and Events Officer and 4 At-Large members.  The EC serves as liaison between Staff Council and the RIT administration and prepares the agenda for full Staff Council meetings.

Kathleen Schreier Rudgers – Chair
Jake Griffin – Vice Chair
Cathy Clarke – Communications Officer
Anne Zachmeyer – Events Officer
Gail Quartieri
Dianne Simpson
Lindsay Vallone
Wendy Wheeler

The Communications Committee keeps constituents updated and informed about Staff Council accomplishments and activities by proactively gathering and disseminating information in a timely and effective manner through the Staff Council website, newsletters, meeting minutes, and other media.

Cathy Clarke – Communications Officer & Chair
Megan Bastian
Jenn Hinton
Joanna Prescott

The Elections and Representation Committee conducts all Staff Council elections, and is responsible for reviewing voting block ratios and the nomination process.

Lindsay Vallone – EC Liaison & Chair
Kira Barnes
Phyllis Walker

The Events Committee is responsible for the planning and execution of the Staff Recognition Awards Ceremony & Reception, the Staff Appreciation Day & Community Picnic, and other events as assigned by Staff Council.

Anne Zachmeyer – Events Officer & Chair
Gail Quartieri - EC Liaison
Wendy Wheeler – EC Liaison
Neveen Botros
Barb Gasbarre
Vikki Hammond
Sharon Kompalla-Porter
Jennifer Taylor
Kari Young

The Institute Issues & Policies Committee reviews issues that are of concern to a significant number of RIT Staff, and is responsible for recommending appropriate courses of action to Staff Council for consideration.  It is also responsible for reviewing, critiquing and making recommendations regarding new or revised RIT policies that are brought to Staff Council for consideration. In addition, the committee reviews any policy brought to its attention by members of the RIT community and/or makes recommendations for new policies as situations arise.

Dianne Simpson – EC Liaison
Michael Bice
Donna Black
Gina Coyne – Chair
Becky Kiely
Autumn Madden
Tom Mix
Katie Pastecki
Paul Smarsh
Shawn Thomas



Staff Council University Committee Appointees

AdvanceRIT Dual Career Assistance Program Steering Committee
Sharon Kompalla-Perter

403-B Advisory Group
James Macchiano

Campus Aesthetics Committee
Lydia Palmer

Diversity Committee of the Board of Trustees
Kathleen Schreier Rudgers

Human Resources Benefits Advisory Group
Robin Amico
Steven Parish
Nancy Popolizio
Stephanie Rankin
Kathleen Rydelek
Dawn Severson

Individual Conflict of Interest / Commitment Committee - 3 year term
Vacant - 2015/16 - 2017/18
Robyn Reafler - 2016/17 - 2018/19
Jake Griffin – 2017/18 - 2019/20

Intellectual Property Policy Committee – 3 year term
Janelle Aimi– 2016/17 – 2018/19

Isaac L. Jordan Sr. Pluralism Award Selection Committee – 1 year term
Dianne Simpson

Ombuds Advisory Committee – 2 year term 
Exempt: Kari Young – 2016/17 – 2017/18
Non-Exempt:  Wendy Wheeler – 2017/18 – 2018/19

Outstanding Teaching Award for Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Selection Committee – 1 year term
Lindsay Vallone

Oversight Committee for Sponsored Projects – 3 year term
Autumn Madden – 2017/18 - 2019/20

Parking Advisory Group – 2 year term
Vikki Hammond – 2017/18 – 2018/19
Sharon Kompalla-Porter – 2016/17 – 2017/18

Parking Appeals Board – 2 year term; max 2 consecutive terms
Jake Griffin  – 2017/18-2018/19 (1st term)
Dave Woodhams – 2016/17-2017/18 (2nd term)

Policy C11.0 - Demonstrations on Campus Review Task Force
Joanna Prescott

Policy C07.0 - Privacy Review Task Force
Wendy Wheeler

RIT Henrietta Campus 50th Anniversary Planning Committee
Jennifer Hinton

Search Committee - SVP Enrollment Management & Career Services
Kathleen Schreier Rudgers

Search Committee - Provost & SVP Academic Affairs
Jenn Hinton

Search Committee - Ombudsperson
Peg Meyers

Staff Recognition Awards Selection Committee - 1 year term
Becky Kiely

Suggestion Program Committee
Kira Barnes, Donna Black, Jennifer Lana

University Budget Hearings – 1 year term
Kathleen Schreier Rudgers, Jake Griffin

University Council – 1 year term
Cathy Clarke, Jake Griffin, Joanna Prescott, Gail Quartieri, Kathleen Schreier Rudgers, Dianne Simpson, Paul Smarsh, Lindsay Vallone, Phyllis Walker, Wendy Wheeler, Anne Zachmeyer 

University Council Alternates – 1 year term
Kira Barnes, Becky Kiely, Sharon Kompalla-Porter