Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


The Women’s Council of RIT Endowed Scholarship provides academic scholarships to women students at RIT who exhibit a strong commitment to a high academic average while struggling with an exceptional/difficult personal or family circumstance.

Eligible students for this scholarship must be women in any program of study who have maintained a GPA of 3.0 or better.  Eligible students must have strong community/campus involvement and have excelled in spite of their difficult circumstances.  Eligible students must demonstrate financial need and complete an application.

Applications will be available online and in the center starting Januray 21, 2019. Deadline for submissions is February 15th, 2019.


The Edwina Award, recognizing a faculty or staff member for his/her significant contributions to enhance gender diversity and inclusiveness at RIT will be awarded at the 2019 Women’s Career Achievement Dinner in April 2019.

Any individual nominated for the Award must be a part or full time faculty or staff member at RIT who shall have completed at least three consecutive years of service at the Institute.

The nominee for the Award may be an individual whose position responsibilities are not focused on gender diversity and inclusion, but who routinely and voluntarily makes gender diversity and inclusion a priority in much of what he or she does; or the candidate may be one whose major responsibilities are implementing gender diversity and inclusion initiatives, but who also consistently explores unique ways to go above and beyond expectations.

The award is named for Edwina Hogodone, who had a 37 year career at RIT, beginning as an instructor in Sales, Personnel, and Advertising and ending as the first woman in the nation to be named as Dean of a college of business. In addition, she was the first woman Dean of any college at RIT.  She served as Dean of the College of Business, now Saunders College of Business, from 1960 until her retirement in 1970  and presided over the development of the then new MBA program at RIT.  She was the lone female dean for that decade!

Edwina Hogodone was also very involved in Zonta International, a global organization of executives and professionals who work to advance the status of women worldwide through service and advocacy.  She served as President of that organization from 1952-1954.

With Edwina being a trailblazer, breaking down barriers for women here at RIT, it seemed only fitting to name this award after her.

Nominations will be requested in the Spring Semester of 2019. Deadline for Letters of Nominations TBD.

Past Recipients

2009 Dr. Scott Franklin - Professor in the School of Physics and Astronomy
2010 Dr. Harvey Palmer- Dean of the Kate Gleason College of Engineering
2010 Dr. Diane Hope- Former Professor in the Professional and Technical Communication Department
2011 Dr. Margaret Bailey- Senior Faculty Associate to the Provost for ADVANCE, Founding Director of WE@RIT
2012 Betsy Dell- Assistant Professor of Manufacturing and Mechanical Engineering in CAST
2013 Molly McGowan- Director of the RIT Leadership Institute and Community Service Center
2014 Stacy DeRooy- Assistant Director and Investigator at RIT Public Safety
2015 Dr. Tina Olsen Lent- Director of the Museum Studies Program and Former Chair of Women and Gender Studies Program
2016 Dr. Sophia Maggelakis - Dean of the College of Science
2017 Dr. Lea Vacca Michel - Assistant Professor in the School of Chemistry and Materials Science
2018 Dr. Hamad Ghazle,  Program Director, Professor, Advanced Practice Sonographer in the College of Health Sciences and Technology
Other Available Scholarships (some are non-RIT):


Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Scholarship

Applicants are invited to apply for the Alpha Phi Alpha - Mu Sigma Chapter Alumni Endowed Scholarship.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:

- Confirmation of full-time enrollment in any academic program at RIT
- Confirmation of good academic standing
- Confirmation of demonstrated financial need as determined by the RIT Financial Aid Office
- Completion of an essay outlining their academic excellence and community service involvement related to the Aims of Alpha Phi Alpha

Applicants are not required to have membership in Alpha Phi Alpha

Two scholarships of at least $1000.00 will be awarded. The scholarship may only be received one time and is not transferable.

History of the Alpha Phi Alpha and the Mu Sigma Chapter:

Since its founding on December 4, 1906, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. has supplied voice and vision to the struggle of African-Americans and people of color around the world. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., the first intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity established for African-Americans, was founded at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York by seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of brotherhood among African descendants in the country.

Since the establishment of the Mu Sigma Chapter on January 22, 1977, over 100 undergraduate brothers have been initiated into Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Incorporated in Rochester, New York. The Mu Sigma Chapter consists of undergraduate brothers from the University of Rochester, Hobart College, Rochester Institute of Technology, St. John Fisher College, and SUNY-Geneseo. These brothers strive to live by the aims of the fraternity, "Many Deeds, Scholarship, and Love for All Mankind," and provided outstanding service to the Rochester community, and the communities in which they live after graduation.

The brothers of Alpha Phi Alpha Mu Sigma Chapter have maintained a strong alumni network and presence on RIT's campus since 1977. The goal of this scholarship, in addition to providing scholarship support to RIT students, is to build a lasting bond between RIT, the Mu Sigma Chapter ( on campus), and the Mu Sigma Chapter Alumni Network (worldwide).

Please follow this link for the application:

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. - Mu Sigma Alumni Endowed Scholarship