Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Provost's Award for Excellence in Academic Advising

The Office of the Provost is excited to announce the Provost’s Award for Excellence in Academic Advising.  Developed and implemented by the University Advising Office and the RIT Advisors’ Council, this award recognizes exceptional academic advisors and NTID counselor/advisors for their outstanding support of RIT students and their success.   

Award Criteria

In addition to successfully performing all aspects of their overall duties and responsibilities, nominees will demonstrate excellence in the following:

  • Supporting student success through a blended approach of developmental and prescriptive advising techniques
  • Embracing and championing the diverse cultures, experiences, and points of view of all students
  • Pursuing continual professional growth and development
  • Modeling and promoting teamwork and collaboration with all constituents (advisees, peers, campus partners, etc.)
  • Employing innovative and creative advising practices 

Award Categories

  1. New Advisor category recognizes RIT academic advisors with 1- 3 years of RIT academic advising experience.   
  2. Experienced Advisor category recognizes RIT academic advisors with more than 3 years of RIT academic advising experience. 

Award recipients will receive a $1000.00 taxable award and be announced along with the Provost’s Celebration of Teaching and Scholarship awards.  Additionally, award recipients will be nominated for NACADA Global Awards. 

Award Eligibility

All professional full-time and part-time primary academic advisors and NTID counselor/advisors, within the Division of Academic Affairs, with a minimum of one full year of RIT advising experience.

Advisors are eligible to receive the Provost’s Award for Excellence in Academic Advising award more than once, after a three year waiting period from when they last received the award.  Similarly, recipients of the New Advisor award category are required to wait a three year period before they are eligible for the Experienced Advisor award category.


Nominations may be made by RIT faculty, staff, administration, or students.  Each nomination will need to address a minimum of three areas of the award criteria.  Self-nominations are not permitted. 

The nomination period opened on Wednesday, October 18, 2017.  If you would like to nominate an academic advisor or NTID counselor/advisor who demonstrates these requirements, please go to the Provost's Award for Excellence in Academic Advising Nomination Form and submit your nomination by Wednesday, November 1, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. 

Submission Procedures

Nominees who accept their nomination will be required to submit the following:

  • A personal statement
  • A personal philosopy of academic advising 
  • Resume
  • The names of two RIT professional references (department chair, administrator, manager, faculty colleague, and/or staff colleague)
  • The names of two student/alumni references (alumni references should be recent alumni, within 3 years of graduation from RIT)

References will be contacted by the award selection committee and asked to submit a letter of support.

Personal statement, philosophy of academic advising, resume, and letters of support are due by Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 4 p.m.


Selection Committee

The selection committee will be comprised of members of the RIT community and will review submissions, interview finalists, and make final recommendations to the Office of the Provost by March 1, 2018.  

Award Recipients

2016 Recipients

Veronika Talbott, NTIDExperienced Advisor Category Award Recipient
Megan Fritts, GCCISNew Advisor Category Award Recipient

2017 Recipients

Michelle Firnstein, SOISExperienced Advisor Category Award Recipient
Brittany Rourke, CASTNew Advisor Category Award Recipient