Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Dean Evaluation Committees: Raising the bar

September 30, 2014

 “Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.” -William Arthur Ward


Last year, we launched our new process for regular 5-year evaluations of the deans, working specifically with the Kate Gleason College of Engineering and the College of Applied Science and Technology. If you are interested, the administrative policy for these evaluations can be found on my website, At the core of the policy is a college-appropriate committee of faculty, staff and students with staff support from Sue Provenzano, assistant vice president, Office of the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs. The Kate Gleason College of Engineering committee included: 

  • Dr. Stefi Baum, co-chair; 
  • Emilio Del Plato, KGCOE staff;
  • Dr. Satish Kandlikar, KGCOE faculty;
  • Dr. David Neumann, co-chair; and
  • Dr. Eli Saber, KGCOE faculty.

While the College of Applied Science and Technology committee included:

  • Dr. Joseph P. Hornak, co-chair; 
  • Dr. Douglas P. Merrill, co-chair; 
  • Dr. Jennifer Schneider, CAST faculty; 
  • Joe Sciandra, CAST student;
  • Joel E. Yates, CAST staff;  and
  • Professor George H. Zion, CAST faculty

I was delighted with the professional approach that the committees embraced throughout the process as well as in the final reports to me. The reports were thorough in summarizing the findings from the extensive input that the committees received, and made a number of pertinent observations and recommendations. The above faculty, staff and students have my deepest gratitude and I thank them for all their input and participation in this evaluation process. I consider this a terrific success.