1 Litre no Namida (One Liter of Tears)

Media: DVD
Author/Director: Murakami Masanori
Language: Japanese
Subtitles: English, Chinese

This beautifully moving drama is based on the real-life struggles of a 15-year-old girl named Aya who suffered from an incurable disease, but lived life to the fullest until her death at 25. The script is based on the diary Aya kept writing until she could no longer hold a pen. The book that later followed entitled “One Litre of Tears" has sold over 1.1 million copies in Japan alone. Aya's only wish was “to live." By carefully depicting Aya's earnest desire to live, and the love of her family, friends, and lover, the drama, “One Litre of Tears" wishes to deliver her simple but strong message: “Just being alive is such a lovely and wonderful thing."

Note: This is a TV miniseries with 10 episodes, and not the 96-minute movie with the same name. The ASIN number below refers to the 3- DVD box set of the TV miniseries. The movie version is not in the MLTC collection, but the DVD can be ordered from Amazon as ASIN: B004HAJ4K6.


Episode 1: The Beginning of My Youth

Episode 2: 15 Years Old Sickness that Steals Up

Episode 3: Why Did the Illness Choose Me?

Episode 4: The Loneliness of Two

Episode 5: A Disabled Person's Notebook

Episode 6: Heartless Glances

Episode 7: The Place Where I Am

Episode 8: 1 Litre of Tears

Episode 9: I Live Now

Episode 10 Love Letter

Episode 11: Away to the Place Where Tears Are Exhausted

ISBN: ASIN: 6117190085
More Information:
MTLC ID: 6107