Executive Committee and Program Staff

Peter C. Hauser, Ph.D.

RIT Program Director

Professor, Director of the NTID Center on Cognition & Language, RIT

Steven L. Barnett, M.D.

URMC Program Director

Associate Professor of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences at UR Medical Center and Director of the National Center on Deaf Health Research.

P. J. Simpson-Haidaris, Ph.D.

Science Education Director

Associate Professor of Medicine and Program Training Director of the Rochester Postdoc Partnership to Advance Research and Academic Careers of Deaf Scholars at the Clinical & Translational Science Institute, UR

Jess Cuculick, Ed.D.

Professional Development Director

Associate Director of Mentoring, NTID Center on Cognition & Language, RIT.

Alaina Maiorana

UR Program Coordinator

Nikki Cherry, M.Ed.

Designated Interpreter

Jason Nordhaus, Ph.D.

Readiness Advisor

Professor, Program Faculty

Caroline Callahan

UR Program Coordinator

Alaina Maiorana

UR Program Coordinator

Jessica Contreras

RIT/NTID Program Coordinator

Kat Womack, M.Ed.

Designated Interpreter

Alfred Vitale


Oversight Committee

  • Vivian Lewis, M.D., Vice Provost for Faculty Development and Diversity, UR
  • Edith M. Lord, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Education at UR Medical Center
  • Daniel Ornt, M.D., Vice President and Dean, Institute of Health Sciences and Technology, RIT
  • Richard Pederson, Ph.D., Assistant Dean & Director, NTID Access Services
  • Twyla Cummings, Ph.D., Dean of Graduate Education, RIT
  • James Hall, Ph.D., Executive Director, School of Individualized Study, RIT
  • Robert Pollard, Ph.D., Associate Dean of Research, NTID, RIT
  • Ryne Raffaelle, Ph.D., Vice President for Research and Associate Provost, RIT
  • Louisa Bennetto, Ph.D., Associate Professor, UR
  • Alan Hurwitz, Ed.D. Former President of NTID and Gallaudet

The Bridges mission is to increase the number of deaf and hard of hearing scientists in behavioral and biomedical science fields.