NRS Award
NRS is, above all, an avenue for RIT to recognize outstanding support of the university. Donors who support RIT each year at a leadership level are recognized and thanked through their membership in NRS. In addition, the society presents two awards to members who set themselves apart in their commitment to advancing the university.

The NRS Award is given each year to an individual determined to have contribute to the overall advancement of the Institute at the highest level. The first award was given to Gaylord C. Whitaker, the society's founder and first chair. The NRS Award has been permanently endowed through a generous gift from Mr. and Mrs. Marcus N. Barbour, charter members of NRS.

Since its first awarding, the NRS Award has honored some of the university's most valued supporters:


Whitaker Service Medallion
The Whitaker Service Medallion was first awarded in 2003. The medallion was created in Gaylord Whitaker's honor to recognize individuals who contribute to the society through leadership and service. The award is not given every year, but only when an individual is determined to have distinguished him/herself in the model of Whitaker. Past winners of the medallion are:


Summer Celebration You and our many NRS donors are integral to advancing major initiatives across campus each year. Your gifts support numerous scholarship and fellowship funds, launched construction of critical new facilities, and support countless academic, research, and student-focused programs in every college.

Hundreds of Nathaniel Rochester Society donors come together each July to celebrate a year of impact at RIT at the annual Summer Celebration. This annual event is RIT's opportunity to say "Thank You!" to our most loyal, dedicated supporters.