RIT Men’s hockey reached a major milestone in 1983 season when they earned their first championship title, after defeating Bemidji State in the NCAA Championship Division II final. After moving to Division III, the team earned another championship in 1985 by defeating Bemidji State again. In 2010, within five years of moving to Division I, the Tigers became the first team from the Atlantic Hockey Association to qualify for the Division I Frozen Four. To recognize the team’s success, “RIT Tiger Hockey Day” was commemorated on April 6, 2010 by Robert Duffy, the mayor of Rochester, and Maggie Brooks, the Monroe County executive. Go Tigers!

Photo credit
New Photo: AP Photo/ Steve Jacobs:


Share, Comment, & Like!

Like Us  Tweet Us  Follow Us  Follow Us

Back to Gallery