Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Premedical & Health Professions Advising

Doolittle Merrill Award

Established in December, 1999, this award recognizes the professionalism and compassion for students shown by Professors Richard Doolittle and Douglas Merrill with the hope that others will emulate their skills and values.

The award honors Kathryne A. Freckleton, who received a Masters Degree in an era when few women attended college, and her brother Karl Staud, who stressed education throughout life. It is their legacy that brought their grandchildren, Melinda L. Freckleton and Jon K. Freckleton, to be advisees of Professors Doolittle and Merrill.

The nominees are selected by the awards committee. The award recipient will receive a monetary scholarship and a certificate at the College of Health Sciences & Technology spring award ceremony. The award recipient will be a student who shows a deep and burning passion for his/her professional field and is a student in good standing.


  • 3rd Year Student
  • Pre-Medicine or Pre-Veterinary
  • Good Academic Standing
Richard Doolittle Douglas Merrill Jon Feckelton


Prior Recipients

Year Recipient
2006 Elizabeth Davis, B.S. Biomedical Sciences
2007 Liana Joa, B.S. Biotechnology
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
2008 Prajna Chopra, B.S. Diagnostic Medical Sonography
University of Maryland School of Medicine
2009 Kailyn Brand, B.S. Biomedical Sciences
SUNY Upstate College of Medicine
2010 Justin Smith, B.S. Biomedical Sciences
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
2011 No Award
2012 Tiffany Reeder, B.S. Biomedical Sciences
2013 Faraz Khan, B.S. Biomedical Sciences
2014 Patrick Mc Mullan, B.S. Biomedical Sciences
2015 Madison Rose, B.S. Biomedical Sciences
2016 Houston Kinch, B.S./M.S. Physician Assistant
2017 Karnan Rajkumar, B.S. Biomedical Science
Back to Top