RIT Home | RIT Search | Directories 
header image
 Current Issue | Issue Dates & Deadlines | University News | Archives
spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer May 21, 2009
2009 College Delegates

Student delegates are selected for personal achievements that demonstrate the ideals of RIT including, but not limited to, academic excellence.They will speak at their respective college commencement ceremonies.

 > Full story
Hossein Shahmohamad, College of Science

There’s an RIT Web site featuring before and after pictures of students who are taking a class in graph theory. All of them are smiling.

So is Hossein Shahmohamad, associate professor and director of graduate programs at RIT’s School of Mathematical Sciences in the College

 > Full story
Andrew Herbert, College of Liberal Arts

Andrew Herbert, associate professor and chair of the psychology department, first became interested in the discipline while taking an undergraduate course on brain and behavior at McGill University in Montreal.

The passion he developed has driven his education and research work ever since—an enthusiasm

 > Full story
James Moon, Kate Gleason College of Engineering

In recounting his path from college to Eastman Kodak Co. to teaching in the classrooms of the Kate Gleason College of Engineering, James Moon acknowledged that he was taught and influenced by some of the very best in the engineering field. Today, both students

 > Full story
Eric Nystrom, College of Liberal Arts

The public has a huge appetite for history, and consumes it widely outside academia—through popular books, museums, community projects, national parks, and even the History Channel. Collectively, this historical activity, created by and for a non-academic audience, is known as public history.

 > Full story
Faculty earn trustee scholarship awards

The Education Committee of RIT’s Board of Trustees selected Michael Stinson from the National Technical Institute for the Deaf and John Schott from the College of Science as the 2009 recipients of the Trustee Scholarship Award. This award, established in 2005, is the premier

 > Full story
Introducing RIT’s outstanding female senior

Kosovo declared its independence just over one year ago, and with it, the potential of a new and growing nation. Kosovo’s young people are part of a growing surge to revitalize the country, contributing to its economic growth.

 > Full story
Celebrating our outstanding undergraduate students

The 2009 Outstanding Undergraduate Scholars are Peter Baron, Ergys Bruci, Mia Dragovi, Diellza Gashi, Igor Kova, Maksim Logvis, Ana Mutnjakovi, Sara Paduano, Robert Petersen, Stephanie Hegge, Girvani Jagdish, Anton Kharin, Andrew Sherman, Kathrine Springate, Timothy Wallenhorst, Rick Whitwood, Max Wunderlich Hall, Benjamin Golub, Corey

 > Full story
Davis Scholarship winners

Davis Scholarships were awarded to Elizabeth Bennett, Anthony Blatner, Justia Cox, Matthew Danna, Jennine Dorse, Alison Dupra, Diego Guzman Valle, Lauren Keller, Heather Knowles, Steffanie Kulis, Manasi Manjrekar, Pedro Mass, Nadia Pasicznyk, Lindsay Reardon, Jacqueline Robinson, Katherine Varandas and Kelly Votolato.

 > Full story
International scholars

The 2009 International Student Scholarship recipients are Namitha Benjamin, Sheetal Alreja, Ivanka Markov, Carolina Alexander, Nai Chieh Yu, Duk Hyu Hwang, Siddharth Khullar, Jose Yustiz Jimenez, Oscar Durand, Aspasia Tsoutsoura, Katherine Sanchez Rodriguez, Xuezhou Hou, Gabriela Jaramillo, Harshanand Pairla, Rodrigo Velarde-Gonzalez, Gahyung Song, Ching-Ping Chen, Rakesh Dhull, Virgilio Guardado, Amardeep Sekhri, Aromake-Oghene Afieghe, Sayali Kadam, Gilbert Arulchandran and Oyuna Myagmar. Those not pictured are Seong Yup Yoo, Erin Kaufman, Ratna Khanna, Aamir Ayub Allaqaband, Srikanth Reddy Pannala, Anju Ann Mathew, Masa Bajc and Audrey Oetomo.

 > Full story
RIT students strike gold in math and science by earning Goldwater awards

Three RIT students have been granted what is arguably the most prestigious undergraduate scholarship award for mathematics and science. Jessica Alexander, Karl Martini Jr. and Katherine Varandas have been named 2009 Goldwater Scholars.

 > Full story
Outstanding excellence in writing

The Institute Writing Committee recognized the winners of this year's Student Writing Contest. Standing with Lisa Hermsen, director of Institute Writing and Robert Ullin, dean of the College of Liberal Arts are Clair Franz, left, and Irina Slastenko.

 > Full story
Alpha Sigma Lambda inductees

This year's inductees into the Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society are Eva Ames, Sarah Applin, James Cezo, Lisa Chestney, Prajna Chopra, Christopher Daniels, Adey Gebregiorgis, Tanya Gizzarelli, Hillary Guzik, Lauren Hittenger, Robert Hoy, Mehlam Kalverts, Eric Kerby, Lea Khavari, Stephanie Lenhardt, Brian Lindquist, Christine Longo, Martin Martinez, AbdulRahman Matsah, Mohd Faidz Mohamad, Pooja Nanda, Mauricio Pommier, Davina Romansky and Timothy Wallenhorst.

 > Full story
Lambda Pi Eta

Twenty-six RIT students were inducted into Lambda Pi Eta, the National Communication Association's student honor society, during a ceremony on campus last month.

 > Full story
Kearse Awards

The College of Liberal Arts 29th annual Kearse Student Honors Awards recognize students from across the university for their excellence in liberal arts coursework. The winning scholars are shown here at the award ceremony in April with Suzanne Graney, associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts.

 > Full story
Wahls-Olsen Awards

The following students have been awarded Wahls-Olsen scholarships for December 2008...

 > Full story
Imagine RIT—Bigger and better than before

The second annual Imagine RIT: Innovation and Creativity Festival, featuring more than 400 exhibits, was held throughout campus May 2. More than 25,000 visitors experienced the day's festivities. Turn to page 10 for more photos from the festival. For additional photos, visit www.rit.edu/imagine.

Max Schulte


University News Services. 132 Lomb Memorial Dr., Bldg. 86 Rochester, NY 14623
© Rochester Institute of Technology. All Rights Reserved.
Issue Credits | Questions/Comments? | Terms of Use
Phone: 585-475-5064, Fax: 585-475-5097