Site-wide links

Rochester Institute of Technology logo

These materials are copyright Rochester Institute of Technology.

Copyright, disclaimer, and contact information, available via the links in the footer of our site.

The University Magazine

RIT sports teams will compete in Liberty League

RIT is moving its Division III Intercollegiate Athletics programs from the Empire 8 Conference to the Liberty League, starting in the 2011-12 academic year.

RIT, which has 24 varsity sports, will move all but men’s and women’s hockey and wrestling to the Liberty League. The Liberty League currently has eight full-time members: Clarkson, Hamilton, Hobart/William Smith, RPI, St. Lawrence, Skidmore, Union and Vassar. In addition, the University of Rochester competes in a handful of Liberty League sports, but is currently not a full-time member.

RIT President Bill Destler says he is extremely pleased with the move.

“Over the last year, intensive efforts have been made by Athletic Director Lou Spiotti, Vice President Mary-Beth Cooper and myself to gain membership in the Liberty League,” said Destler, announcing the change. “Interestingly, RPI, Clarkson, St. Lawrence and Union all have Division I hockey programs, and Hobart has a Division I lacrosse program. Thus RIT fits in very well with the intercollegiate athletic philosophy of the other Liberty League institutions.”

Joe Venniro