Reporting Structure

The President’s Commission on Women is administratively under the Office of the President.


The Commission is headed by a Chair or multiple Co-Chairs. The Chair or Co-Chairs preside over meetings of the Commission and appoint standing and ad hoc committees necessary for the function of the Commission. This office is appointed by the President and is held for a three year term, which may be reappointed once.


A staff person within the Office of the President provides administrative support for the PCW. In addition, staff from Human Resources and Institutional Research and Policy Studies serve in a support role for the data needs of the Commission.


The Commission will hold regular meetings at a time and place arranged by the Chair(s).

Voting Privileges

Each member, as well as the Chair(s), has one vote.


Two-thirds of the Commission membership constitutes a quorum. Electronic proxy is permitted. Physical presence is not required.


A simple majority is required for all decisions, except bylaw changes which require a quorum.  If a decision is needed immediately, the Chair(s) will post emergency decisions electronically to Commission members and give consideration to feedback.


In the first year the Commission is established and thereafter upon notification by the Commission, each academic college, library and administrative unit (Vice Presidential level with more than 50 staff members) will collect nominations for Commission membership from faculty, staff, and administrators. Nominees should be committed to accomplishing the work of the Commission and must be available for meetings. Each college and library can select and forward to the Commission the names of two nominees and each administrative unit can nominate one person.

The Chair will appoint a three-person membership committee to be responsible for reviewing each pair of nominees from the colleges and library, identifying one nominee for membership and one nominee for alternate membership. The membership committee will verify the willingness and availability of each nominee to serve as members of the Commission.  Alternate members serve in absence of the corresponding members and may serve on committees.

The Council of Student Government has an ex officio appointment for one student who will represent the student body at RIT.  Future:  Consider adding more student membership.

The President, Provosts, and Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion hold ex officio memberships. The membership committee may recommend ex officio membership to others as necessary for the functions of the Commission.

The membership committee will present an annual slate of nominees to the Commission for approval. This slate of nominees should allow one-third of the membership to rotate off each year.

After the first year the Commission is established, the slate of nominees must receive a quorum vote to be approved by the Commission. If approved, the slate of nominees will be forwarded by the Chair(s) to the President of the University for confirmation and appointment.

The Commission will have no more than 20 regular members.

Reappointment and Terms

The membership term is three years.  An individual who serves one term and then sits out for a term is eligible to serve a second term.


Commission members are expected to attend all meetings.  Absences should be reported in advance or as soon as possible.  Three unexplained absences in an academic year will result in a recommendation to the President that the member's appointment be terminated.

Standing Committees

The following committees include 3-6 members on each:
Representation & Compensation
Campus Climate & Environment
Communication & Outreach


Rochester Institute of Technology
1 Lomb Memorial Drive,
Rochester, NY 14623

Copyright © Rochester Institute of Technology. All rights reserved | Disclaimer | Copyright Infringement.