Staff Council Celebrates 20 Years

On Thursday, April 19, 2012, Staff Council hosted a reception to celebrate its 20th anniversary.  RIT President Dr. Bill Destler and President Emeritus Dr. Al Simone joined the festivities in the Vignelli Center University Gallery.

Staff Council became an addition to the shared governance model at RIT when it was created in 1992 at the suggestion of Dr. Simone. Dr. Simone explained that, since two out of three RIT employees were staff, he felt RIT needed a vehicle to to communicate with them and to include them in the decision-making process that governed the university, thereby becoming more transparent and inclusive. 

Both Dr. Destler and Dr. Simone praised staff for their contributions to the university.  Following the President’s remarks, Peg Meyers the Staff Council Coordinator and “Captain of the Ship” spoke of many of the wonderful contributions that Staff Council has made to the betterment of the RIT community and highlighted some of the times when the partnership has flourished.  Peg has worked for RIT Staff Council for 19 years and has acted as mentored to each Staff Council Chair and Executive Committee through the years.

Dr. Simone was joined by his wife Carolie.  RIT Trustee Emeritus Dancy Duffus was also on hand to share in the celebration. The first  Staff Recognition Awards were created through Dancy’s efforts as an RIT Board of Trustees member and this year will mark the 16th anniversary of the Staff Recognition Awards program at RIT.

Past and present Staff Council members were on hand including past Staff Council Chairs: Cliff Dickinson, Cindee Gray, Mike Servé, Kim Shearer, Dave Edborg, Kurt Ingerick, Julia Lisuzzo, Josh Bauroth, & Becky Kiely. The current Staff Council Chair, Molly Johnson, led the program.

Download presentation from the event [pdf]
View event Poster [pdf]