Political science studies the ways in which domestic governments and international relations address fundamental issues of power, justice, liberty, and order. The department teaches not only the mechanics and strategies of the political process, but also examines limitations on government authority, and responsibilities of citizens.This is examined through a broad curriculum surveying major domestic governmental functions (legislative, executive and judicial) as well as comparative analysis across countries and international relations.

The department offers a B.S. degree in Political Science. We also teach a variety of courses that can count toward fulfillment of the requirements for courses in the Perspectives or Immersions categories.  Our courses can be grouped for an Immersion in American Politics or International Relations, or as an optional five-course minor (American Politics, International Relations, or Political Science).

We invite students to study with us. Understanding “how things get done” and the complexity of politics are valuable lessons for any career students may choose after RIT.

Department Chair:

Professor Sean D. Sutton

Eastman - Room 1324

(585) 475 - 4620



Undergraduate Program Directors:

Professor Lauren Hall

Eastman - Room 1348

(585) 475-6827


Professor Nathan Dinneen

Eastman - Room 1325

(585) 475-6373


RIT Images