Site-wide links

Rochester Institute of Technology logo

These materials are copyright Rochester Institute of Technology.

Copyright, disclaimer, and contact information, available via the links in the footer of our site.

Institute Writing Committee

The Institute Writing Committee (IWC) is a subcommittee of the Intercollege Curriculum Committee. In this capacity, the IWC will:

  1. Facilitate the implementation of the Institute Writing Policy through activities that include:
    1. Consulting with the curriculum committees of the various departments, programs, and colleges to review writing policy objectives and the criteria for Writing Intensive (WI) Courses;
    2. Reviewing courses proposed to carry a WI designation and make decisions regarding their WI status;
    3. Keeping a record of applications and decisions for WI course designation; and
    4. Informing the RIT community of the approved course proposals.
  2. Act as a liaison between all academic units to determine student and faculty need regarding implementation of the writing policy;
  3. Define priorities for adequate professional and curricular support for both students and faculty;
  4. Stay current with research on best practices in writing program administration, assess the feasibility and desirability for instituting these practices at RIT, and make recommendations accordingly;
  5. Serve in an advisory role to faculty in the development of assessment methods for writing outcome;
  6. Assess the Writing Across the Curriculum Program;
  7. Report annually to the ICC on its work.

Faculty Representatives

Name Email Term
David Martins (UWP Director), Co-Chair Open Term (Provost's Delegate)
Sarah Thompson (CIAS), Co-Chair 2014-2017 (2nd Term)
Cathy Beaton (GCCIS) 2014-2017 (1st Term)
Steven Day (KGCOE) 2014-2017 (1st Term)
Yossi Nygate (CAST) 2014-2017 (1st Term)
Andrea Hickerson (CLA) 2015-2018 (1st Term)
Pamela R. Conley (NTID) Spring 2016 (Stand-in for Dr. Kincheloe)
Stephen LaGrou (SCB) Spring 2016 (Stand-in for Dr. Palanski)
Carl Lutzer (COS) 2014-2017 (2nd Term)
Michael Palanski (SCB), 2015-2018 (2nd Term)
Harvey Palmer (KGCOE - Dean Representative) 2015-2018 (1st Term)
Phillipa Thiuri (Senior Director, ASC) Open Term
Nancy Valentage (CHST) 2014-2017 (2nd Term)
Stanley Van Horn (ELC Director) Open Term
Dianna Winslow (First-Year Writing Program Director) Open Term