University Writing Committee


The ICC shall call upon the Senate to initiate college elections to fill positions on subcommittees it may form to oversee general education and university writing. The college representation on the General Education or University Writing subcommittees shall reflect the college representation on the ICC.

The membership of the sub-committee for University Writing (UWC) shall include representation from the same units as ICC [one faculty member per college which offers an undergraduate program, each to be elected by their collegial faculty; one representative elected at large by the Faculty Senate and who is a member of a college offering an undergraduate program; one representative from the academic deans or designee; one representative from Student Government; and the provost or their delegate (ex-officio, voting)] and will also include the First-Year Writing Coordinator, the University Writing Program director, one representative from the Academic Success Center, and one representative from the English Language Center.

The chairs of GEC and UWC, or their designee, shall serve as an ex-officio non-voting member of the ICC. The chair of ICC, or designee, shall serve as an ex-officio non-voting member on each of the ICC subcommittees.

Charges for AY2023-24

Standing Charges
  1. Continue to perform the responsibilities of UWC as outlined in Policy D0.10, Section VI, Part C)
Continuing Charges
  1. Explore adding a requirement to the University’s writing policy to recertify courses as Writing Intensive at some frequency between 5 and 10 years.
  2. Explore the University Writing Policy’s writing requirements and expectations for total time, topics, effort, fraction of grade, and credit hours prior to graduation as appropriate. Current policy only requires 3 courses to be taken to fulfill the writing requirement and fraction of grade required assumes a 3 credit course.
  1. Collaborate with UWP to develop workshops and training for faculty based on the needs identified in the 2022-2023 WI faculty survey and communicate the need for resources to the administration as necessary.
  2. Collaborate with the UWP, DEIC, and other committees and departments as appropriate to develop and host workshops/tutorials/trainings for faculty about the negative impact that implicit and explicit linguistic bias has on students from diverse language backgrounds, and recommend how to address these issues in classrooms, assignment design, and syllabi.
  3. Update Policy D01.0 to more clearly reflect the roles of the UWP and the UWC with respect to providing writing-related resources and instruction to RIT faculty.


Gretchen Wainwright

College of Engineering Technology

Chair, AY 2023-2024

2023-2026 (2nd Term)

Jennifer Bailey

Kate Gleason College of Engineering

2023-2026 (2nd Term)

ICC Chair's Delegate

Mari Jaye Blanchard

College of Art and Design

2023-2026 (2nd Term)

Robert Glick

College of Liberal Arts

2022-2024 (1st term)

Matthew Houdek

Academic Affairs

First-year Writing Coordinator

Open Term

Pamela Kincheloe

Academic Affairs

SOIS Representative -  AY 2023-2024

Director, University Writing Program

Open Term

Dina Newman

College of Science

2023-2026 (1st Term)

Cha Ron Sattler-LeBlanc

Student Affairs

Senior Director, Academic Success Center

Open Term

Kathryn Schmitz

National Technical Institute for the Deaf

2022 - 2023 (1st Term*)

Shawn Sturgeon

Saunders College of Business

2021-2024 (2nd Term)

Robert Ulin

College of Liberal Arts

2023 - 2026 (1st Term)

At-large Representative


Nancy Valentage

College of Health Sciences and Technology

2022-2024 (1st term)

Stanley Van Horn

Student Affairs

Director, English Language Center

Open Term

Michael Yacci

Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences

2023-2026 (1st Term)

David Yockel

Academic Affairs

Provost Appointee

Open Term

Mark Behrend Headshot

Mark Behrend

Student Government Representative