Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee (SLOAC)

The Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee (SLOAC) was created as an ad hoc committee (formerly the Academic Outcomes Assessment Task Force) in 2005 to facilitate and support program level assessment efforts in each college. Representatives from all nine colleges and the Assistant Provost for Assessment and Accreditation sit on this committee.

RIT’s commitment to improving student learning and programs has led to a mature assessment culture. We have an institutional commitment to integrating best assessment practices at all levels of the institution and RIT has moved well beyond foundational stages. We are able to see concretely how assessment results improve quality, drive resource decisions, and strengthen the natural connection between curriculum, pedagogy, and student achievement.

Student learning assessment for all of RIT’s academic programs, regardless of program delivery mode or location, follow the same assessment policies, practices, and annual reporting processes.


This committee is part of RIT’s overall commitment to improving student learning and continuous program improvement.  The focus of the work is on supporting and facilitating program-level assessment efforts within each college and degree granting unit.

SLOAC’s primary charge is to:

  • Provide recommendations for University assessment needs and strategies related to student learning and program improvement;
  • Advise and support academic program-level learning assessment efforts and best practices in each college and degree granting unit at all locations;
  • Recommend improvements to infrastructure and data management to provide information, planning, and guidance to University-wide assessment efforts;
  • Minimize duplication of efforts by leveraging assessment processes and practices for multiple accrediting bodies and to meet Middle States and RIT assessment standards.


SLOAC Key Goals and Action Items

Four key goals have been established to enhance student learning, program improvement, and support best practices in assessment. The committee will prioritize and create an implementation plan to support the following goals.

Goal I: Establish strategic direction for student learning outcomes assessment

Action Items:

  1. Assist and provide input related to the development of institutional efforts to focus on student learning and program improvement (e.g., assessment plans and processes, etc.)


Goal II: Address college-level and degree granting unit assessment issues and challenges

Action Items:

  1. Develop plans and implement associated actions for addressing college or degree granting unit’s specific assessment challenges and issues
  2. Share data and resources with respective colleges and degree granting units


Goal III: Develop, facilitate, support, program-level reporting to highlight student achievement of goals and program use of data to inform the program

Action Items:

  1. Develop and support implementation of RIT’s annual Progress Report survey for colleges and degree granting units which aligns to RIT’s Educational Goals
  2. Annually review RIT’s survey and rubric for program-level reporting submissions


Goal IV: Recommend improvements to the University infrastructure and data management systems to support university-wide assessment efforts

Action Items:

  1. Support college or degree granting unit implementation of assessment management system and utilization of technologies to enhance university reporting
  2. Identify steps to implement recommendations or suggestions that support MSCHE assessment expectations and requirements

Committee Members

Academic Affairs; Office of Educational Effectiveness Assessment
Leah Bradley, Director

Academic Affairs; Office of Educational Effectiveness Assessment
Kate Scahill, Assistant Director

College of Engineering Technology
Michael Eastman, Associate Dean

College of Health Sciences & Technology
Carla Stebbins, Associate Dean

College of Art and Design
Chris Jackson, Associate Dean

College of Liberal Arts
Lauren Hall, Associate Dean

College of Science
Larry Buckley, Associate Dean

Golisano College of Computing & Information Sciences
Michael Yacci, Associate Dean, Chair

Golisano Institute for Sustainability
Dennis A. Andrejko, Chair of Master of Architecture Program

Kate Gleason College of Engineering
Matthew Marshall, Associate Dean

National Technical Institute for the Deaf
Matthew Lynn, Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs

Saunders College of Business
Shawn Sturgeon, Director of Accreditation and Assessment

School of Individualized Study
Peter Boyd, Lecturer, Graduate Program Coordinator