About University Council

University Council is an integral part of the shared governance model of leadership at RIT. It brings together representatives from the three governance groups of the university: Faculty Senate, Staff Council, and Student Government.

The president, the provost, vice presidents, and deans are also represented on the Council, which addresses university-level policies and facilitates communication among the constituents of the university. The University Council develops and reviews institutional priorities and acts as a forum through which current or continuing issues of higher education can be discussed.

University Council Bylaws