Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

The Academic Senate was created in 1995 through the adoption of the Charter of Academic Governance, and replaced its predecessor organization, the Faculty Council. Senate seats are apportioned to the Colleges and Educational Development Faculty based on the number of the faculty in that unit. There are currently 44 senators, and of those 44 senators, 36 senators are elected for three-year terms. Serving as ex-officio members are the Provost (voting), one Vice-President (officio, voting), two Academic Deans (voting), VP and Associate Provost for Diversity and Inclusion (non-voting), Associate Provost for Faculty Career Development and the Wallace Library (non-voting), the Director of RIT Libraries (non-voting), the Chair of Staff Council (voting), and the President of the Student Government (voting). The President of the Institute is an ex-officio, non-voting member.

The officers of the Senate, who act as the Executive Committee consist of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Operations Officer, Treasurer, and Communications Officer. There are also 10 standing committees and two sub-committees under ICC, with most of the membership being elected by the various colleges, and some being appointed by the Senate as at-large members. 

The Senate meets generally every other Thursday from 12:05 p.m. until 1:50 p.m. The meetings are open to the public.

Academic Senate is committed to facilitating faculty participation in shared governance at RIT. That commitment necessitates timely communications on issues, concerns, and pending changes to the rules and regulations by which RIT will transition from "Very Good to Great." RIT Virtual Town Meeting (RIT VTM) is our concept for meeting this commitment. RIT VTM is enabled by forum discussions, the RIT Academic Senate Digital Media Library which is a searchable catalog of our legacy and working documents, and the mailing lists found throughout this site for communicating with the individuals and groups that constitute Academic Senate and the Academic Senate standing committees that represent our faculty. Should your concern not be met by contacting a specific individual or group of Academic Senate you are welcome to contact the entire Academic Senate and Academic Senate standing committee members by emailing your concern to RIT VTM.


How to use this site

Click here for RIT Resources for New Faculty

This site is designed to share RIT Academic Senate documents, such as agendas, minutes, working documents, and reports with the RIT community. As RIT's institutional repository, the RIT Digital Media Library catalogs and preserves documents so they are searchable by keywords and by collection. To access this archive, you must be faculty, staff, or student. View the How to Access Academic Senate Documents in the RIT Digital Media Library instructions to register and view the documents.


Did You Know?

RIT Faculty Data 



American Association of University Professors (RIT AAUP)

Charter Of Academic Governance

Center for Professional Development

Eisenhart Award for Teaching

Human Resources

Institute Calendar

Ombud's Office

Policy & Procedures Manual

Staff Council

Student Government

Teaching & Learning Center

University Council