Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Center for Advancing STEM Teaching, Learning and Evaluation (CASTLE)

Scott Franklin

Outstanding Referee of the Physical Review Journals

March, 2018—Dr. Scott Franklin, Associate Professor in the School of Physics and Astronomy is one of 147 Outstanding Referees of the Physical Review journals, as chosen by the journal editors for 2018.


Jordan Cardenas

Jordan Cardenas Publishes Research Paper

Jordan Cardenas, a member of SMERC's 2016 DBER REU cohort, published a paper on his research on how arrows are used in biology in CBE—Life Sciences Education 17:ar6, Spring 2018. Arrows in Biology: Lack of Clarity and Consistency Points to Confusion for Learners.

Jessica Small

CASTLE - College of Science 

October 19, 2017—Jessica Small, CASTLE's Research Program Administrator (front row, right)—along with her associates—received a Presidential Award for Staff Excellence. The College of Science Staff Advisory Council (COSSAC): Valerie Hemink, Cari Hindman, Jennifer Liedkie, Jane McGowan, Jessica Small '06, '08, Melanie Warren.

Dr. Scott Franklin

Dr. Scott Franklin

Professor, School of Physics and Astronomy

April 28, 2017—Rochester Institute of Technology recognized Dr. Scott Franklin, Professor in the School of Physics and Astronomy and Director of CASTLE at RIT (Center for Advancing STEM Teaching, Learning & Evaluation) with the 2016-2017 Isaac L. Jordan, Sr., Faculty Pluralism Award. This university-wide award program recognizes faculty for their significant contributions to enhance diversity at RIT.

Dr. Franklin was also named the Five Sigma Physicist from the American Physical Society (APS Physics) for his outstanding science policy advocacy during the past year. He was one of the organizers for the Rochester March For Science held on April 22nd that attracted over 1600 science enthusiasts.

Ryan Scott

Ryan Scott

College of Science Graduate

March 7, 2017—Ryan Scott, a graduate of RIT College of Science has been recognized by the American Association of Physics Teachers - AAPT and the Advanced Laboratory Physics Association for his contributions as an undergraduate student researcher to RIT's School of Physics and Astronomy.