Provost’s Award for Excellence in Advising

To celebrate RIT’s academic advisors, the Provost’s Award for Excellence in Advising recognizes advisors who have demonstrated exceptional academic advising of students and outstanding support of students and their success.

The annual award was developed and implemented by the University Advising Office and the RIT Advisors’ Council.


All professional full-time and part-time staff academic advisors and NTID counselor/advisors, within the Division of Academic Affairs, with a minimum of one full year of RIT advising experience.

Nominees for this award are classified as either a new or experienced advisor:

  1. New Advisor category recognizes RIT academic advisors with 1-3 years of RIT academic advising experience.
  2. Experienced Advisor category recognizes RIT academic advisors with more than 3 years of RIT academic advising experience.


In addition to successfully performing all aspects of their overall duties and responsibilities, nominees will demonstrate excellence in the following:

  1. Supporting student success through a blended approach of developmental and prescriptive advising techniques
  2. Embracing and championing the diverse cultures, experiences, and points of view of all students
  3. Pursuing continual professional growth and development
  4. Modeling and promoting teamwork and collaboration with all constituents (advisees, peers, campus partners, etc.)
  5. Employing innovative and creative advising practices

Nomination Process

If you would like to nominate an academic advisor, please complete and submit a nomination form here.

Awards Ceremony

Award recipients will be honored at the Provost’s Celebration of Teaching and Scholarship awards. The ceremony will take place on Tuesday, April 12, 2022 at 4:30 p.m.

More information about ceremony

Award Recipients

New Advisor: Medina Orana, RIT Kosovo 
Experienced Advisor: Ashley Jackson, College of Health Sciences and Technology

New Advisor: Jenna Samuel, RIT Dubai
Experienced Advisor: Lindsay Kukla D’Alleva, College of Science



Pradip Ananda, University Exploration
Lindsay Vallone, College of Engineering Technology

Paul Muenzer, College of Art and Design
Gary Cole, College of Health Sciences and Technology

Brittany Rourke, College of Engineering Technology
Michelle Firnstein, School of Individualized Study

Megan Fritts, Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences
Veronika Talbot, National Technical Institute for the Deaf


For more information, contact Carla DeLucia, Associate Director, University Advising Office, at