Provost’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Mentoring

This award honors an RIT faculty member who actively helps in the development of a junior colleague’s career by offering advice, feedback, and guidance that reflects a deep understanding of their department, college, and university.

The faculty member receiving this award embodies the spirit of RIT's values, honor code, and commitment to diversity and inclusion in a way that contributes to the future of the university.


The nominee must be a full-time RIT faculty member.


Nominees should meet or exceed the following:

  1. Formally or informally mentored a junior colleague for at least 1 year.
  2. Helped mentees develop in specific capacities (e.g. teaching, research, scholarship, service, etc.).
  3. Provide career advancement advice.
  4. Offer support.

Nomination Process

A full-time RIT faculty member who has been in a mentee relationship with an RIT faculty member may nominate their mentor. The nominee must not have positional authority over the mentee and should have acted as their mentor in a formal or informal capacity for at least one year. Groups of mentees may nominate a single mentor. Self-nominations are not allowed. Also, individuals who have received this award within the last two years are not eligible. 

If you would like to nominate a faculty member, please complete and submit a nomination form when the application process opens.

To assist you with the required information for your submission, a sample is available. Nominees may be asked to supply additional evidence to support the criteria for the award.

Descriptions of mentoring roles and characteristics are available in the Faculty Mentoring Guidebook.  

Awards Ceremony

Award recipients will be honored at the Provost’s Celebration of Teaching and Scholarship awards.  

More information about ceremony

Award Recipients

Stephen Jacobs, Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences

Ann Hager, National Technical Institute for the Deaf
Peter Hauser, National Technical Institute for the Deaf

Katie Terezakis, College of Liberal Arts
Stan Rickel, College of Art and Design

Shal Khanzanchi, Saunders College of Business
Elizabeth A. Kmiecinski, College of Health Sciences and Technology

Caroline DeLong, College of Liberal Arts

Darren A. Narayan, College of Science
Scott Franklin, College of Science

Chun-Keung (Stan) Hoi, Saunders College of Business
Satish Kandlikar, Kate Gleason College of Engineering
Brian J. Landi, Kate Gleason College of Engineering
Hossein Shahmohamad, College of Science
Harvey Rhody, College of Science

Robert J. Barbato, Saunders College of Business
Christopher J. Collison, College of Science
Robert D. Garrick, College of Engineering Technology
Anne Haake, Golisano College of Computing and Information Science
Todd Pagano, National Technical Institute for the Deaf

Patrick M. Scanlon, College of Liberal Arts


For more information, contact the Academic Affairs team at