Provost’s Innovative Teaching Award

The Innovative Teaching Award recognizes a full-time RIT faculty member who teaches in effective and innovative ways that improve the student educational experience.


  • Nominees must be full-time faculty as defined in E6.0 - Policy on Faculty Rank with at least one year of teaching at RIT.  (Adjuncts may be eligible for the Outstanding Teaching Award for Non-Tenure-Track Faculty).
  • Faculty may self-nominate or be nominated by students, alumni, or colleagues.
  • The nominee shall be a full-time faculty member for all of the year in which the award is given, and will not be on official leave for any of this period.
  • The primary responsibility of the nominee, demonstrated by the teaching assignments of the nominee, shall be teaching RIT students. Primary responsibility is defined as at least three courses in the year of evaluation, as principal instructor in formal RIT courses (classroom, lab, studio, online).
  • Faculty with administrative titles shall not be eligible for this award.
  • The candidate shall not have been a recipient of the award in the preceding three years.


Nominations for this award will be evaluated against the university’s definition and rubric of innovative teaching and learning.

Nomination Process

The nomination period for 2023-24 Innovative Teaching Award is currently closed, as of Monday, December 18, 2023 at 11:59 PM.

If you would like to nominate a full-time faculty member who teaches in effective and innovative ways that improve the student educational experience, please complete and submit a nomination form when the application process opens in the fall semester.

Selection Process

The review committee assesses nominees to determine if they meet eligibility requirements, then individually and collectively ranks each candidate on how strongly they meet the stated criteria. After careful deliberation, one recipient is selected from the pool. The review committee provides its recommendation to the Provost.


Award recipients will be honored at the Celebration of Teaching and Scholarship awards ceremony, where the awardee will be presented with a framed certificate and a $1,250 taxable award.


Award Recipients

Makini Beck, College of Liberal Arts, School of Individualized Study

Shaun Foster, College of Art and Design
Peter Pincus, College of Art and Design

Sarilyn Ivancic, Kate Gleason College of Engineering

Lara Cardoso Goulart, College of Art and Design

Linda Gottermeier, National Technical Institute for the Deaf

Hinda Mandell, College of Liberal Arts
Kelly Norris Martin, College of Liberal Arts

Nathaniel S. Barlow, College of Science

Elizabeth Reeves O'Connor, College of Liberal Arts

Brian Tomaszewski, Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences

Mario W. Gomes, Kate Gleason College of Engineering

Robert Garrick, College of Engineering Technology

Robert Teese, College of Science

Victor Perotti, Saunders College of Business


For more information, contact