Provost’s Innovative Teaching with Technology Award

The Innovative Teaching with Technology Award recognizes full-time RIT faculty who use technology to teach in effective and innovative ways that improve the student educational experience.


  • Nominees must be full-time faculty as defined in E6.0 - Policy on Faculty Rank with at least one year of teaching at RIT.  (Adjuncts may be eligible for the Outstanding Teaching Award for Non-Tenure-Track Faculty).
  • Faculty may self-nominate or be nominated by students, alumni, or colleagues.
  • The nominee shall be a full-time faculty member for all of the year in which the award is given, and will not be on official leave for any of this period.
  • The primary responsibility of the nominee, demonstrated by the teaching assignments of the nominee, shall be teaching RIT students. Primary responsibility is defined as at least three courses in the year of evaluation, as principal instructor in formal RIT courses (classroom, lab, studio, online).
  • Faculty with administrative titles shall not be eligible for this award.
  • The candidate shall not have been a recipient of the award in the preceding three years.


Nominations for this award will be evaluated against the university’s definition and rubric of innovative teaching and learning.

Nomination Process

The Office of the Provost is pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for the 2033- 2023 Innovative Teaching with Technology Award.

Nominations will be accepted from students, faculty, and staff, and nominees may self-nominate. If you would like to nominate a faculty member, please complete and submit a nomination form no later than Friday, December 2, 2022.

If a nomination meets the eligibility requirements, the nominee will be asked to make themselves available for an interview with the review committee and Center for Teaching and Learning staff.

Nominations must be submitted by 11:59 PM, Friday, December 2, 2022.

Selection Process

The review committee assesses nominees to determine if they meet eligibility requirements, then individually and collectively ranks each candidate on how strongly they meet the stated criteria. After careful deliberation, one recipient is selected from the pool. The review committee provides its recommendation to the Provost.


Award recipients of the 2022-2023 award will be honored at the Provost’s Celebration of Teaching and Scholarship awards ceremony on Thursday, April 13, 2023, at 4:30 p.m. where they will be presented with a framed certificate and a $1,000 taxable award.


Award Recipients

Sarilyn Ivancic, Kate Gleason College of Engineering

Lara Cardoso Goulart, College of Art and Design

Linda Gottermeier, National Technical Institute for the Deaf

Hinda Mandell, College of Liberal Arts
Kelly Norris Martin, College of Liberal Arts

Nathaniel S. Barlow, College of Science

Elizabeth Reeves O'Connor, College of Liberal Arts

Brian Tomaszewski, Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences

Mario W. Gomes, Kate Gleason College of Engineering

Robert Garrick, College of Engineering Technology

Robert Teese, College of Science

Victor Perotti, Saunders College of Business


For more information, contact