Four Presidents nomination form

Purpose Of Award

The Four Presidents Distinguished Public Service Award Fund was created by Alfred L. Davis on the occasion of the 65th year of his association with RIT, to commemorate the dedication of the four RIT presidents with whom he worked, in their service to the Rochester community. The purpose of this award is to honor the four presidents, Mark Ellingson, Paul Miller, M. Richard Rose, and Albert Simone, with whom Mr. Davis served at RIT, and to recognize a current member of the faculty or staff who, through his/her public service, mirrors the lives of the four presidents, who have been not only outstanding professionals but also caring members of the community.

Award Criteria

The award recognizes service over and above an individual’s regular institutional responsibilities*, which provides a benefit beyond the university and has a significant impact on the Rochester community and beyond, as evidenced by the following:

  • Evidence of extensive and diverse public service;
  • Evidence that the individual is an important and participating member of the organization(s) served;
  • Service as a board member or in a leadership role (e.g. president, etc.), and/or extensive service at the grassroots level;
  • A sustained commitment and service to at least one organization over an extended period of time;

*NOTE: Service should not be connected to or an extension of the nominee's professional job at RIT.

Requirements For Consideration

Nominators must submit the following nomination form in order for a nominee to be given full consideration.

Nomination Deadline: Wednesday, November 15, 2023