Lecturers' Professional Development Grants

The Lecturers’ Professional Development Grants acknowledge the many contributions of RIT’s lecturers, senior lecturers, and principal lecturers. This grant program provides funds for professional development activities that involve teaching, development, and/or creative endeavors. Grants up to $2,000 each will be awarded. Submissions are limited to one grant application per faculty each academic year.

Examples of appropriate expenditures include participation at conferences, national professional meetings and pedagogical programs, or travel required to access resources at other institutions. Funding for software/hardware acquisition or other equipment, professional membership fees or licensure, tuition, add-pay, faculty stipends, course release, or additional faculty salaries will not be considered.


All full-time lecturers, senior lecturers, and principal lecturers with continuing appointments at RIT are eligible to apply. Priority will be given to faculty who have not received a previous Lecturers' Professional Development grant. Faculty who have not completed projects/used grant funds previously awarded or have not submitted an outcome report for a prior grant will not be eligible for a new grant-funded activity.

Application Process and Materials

If you would like to apply for a Lecturers’ Professional Development Grant, please complete and submit an application form when the application process opens in October 2020.

Grant Selection and Reporting Requirements

Proposals will be reviewed by a faculty selection committee, and recipients will be notified at the end of November. If you are awarded a grant, you will receive instructions for accessing funds and reporting on the use of your grant.

All grant recipients are asked to help disseminate their results by completing a brief report following the project completion sharing the impact of this grant on your professional development, success in your field, teaching, etc.   

Award Recipients

Rebecca Aloisio, CAD -- Exhibition Opportunity at Hallwalls Contemporary Arts Center, Buffalo, NY

Dawn Carter, COS -- Association of Biology Laboratory Educators (ABLE) meeting

Jessamy Comer, CLA -- Teaching Institute preconference event and SRCD biennial meeting

Sandi Connnelly, COS -- Online class developments presented at World Conference on Online Learning

Yasmine El-Glaly, COS -- Attend the 21st International ACM SIGACCESS Conference on Computers and Accessibility (ASSETS)

Thomas Hanney, SOIS -- 2019 Society for the Preservation and Advancement of the Harmonica (SPAH) annual convention

Petko Kitanov, COS -- Attend and present at Joint Mathematical Meeting, Baltimore, MD

Eric Kunsman, NTID -- Photolucida portfolio reviews

Bernadette Lanciaux, COS -- Joint Mathematical Meeting, Baltimore, MD

Michael McQuaid, GCCIS -- RStudio::Conf2019

Branko Mihaljevic, RIT Croatia -- Attend and present at Devoxx UK conference

Jakob Patekar, RIT Croatia -- 10th Conference of the European Association for the Teaching of Academic Writing

Marissa Tirone, CAD -- FATE's 17th Biennial Conference: Foundations in Flux conference and presentation

Cody Van de Mark, GCCIS -- Game Developers Conference (GDC)

Karen vanMeenen, CLA -- Attend conference of the National Association for Poetry Therapy

Fazal Abbas, COS
Jennifer Bailey, KGCOE
Erin Cascioli, GCCIS
Sandi Connelly, COS
Yahya Haidar, RIT Dubai
Petko Kitanov, COS
Marca Lam-Anderson, KGCOE
Kate Leipold, KGCOE
Amy McLaren (Williams), CAD
Angelina Maia, CHST
Milivoj Markovic, RIT Croatia - Zagreb
Rick Mislan, SCB
Heidi Nickisher, CAD
Ulrike Stroszeck, CLA
Aditya Yechan Gunja, COS

Yasmine El-Glaly, GCCIS
Daniel Krutz, GCCIS
Angelina Maia, CHST
Jeffrey L. Mills, COS
Heidi Nickisher, CAD
Ahndraya Parlato, CAD
Maja Vidovic, SCB, RIT Croatia 
Gretchen Wainwright, CET

Jennifer Bailey, KGCOE
Bill Brewer, CHST
Dawn Carter, COS
Daniel Krutz, GCCIS
Eric Kunsman, NTID
Rick Lagiewski, CET
Angelina Maia, CHST
Heidi Nickisher, CAD
Ulrike Stroszeck
Teresa Wolcott, CET

Jennifer Bailey, KGCOE
Dawn Carter, COS
Elizabeth Dicesare, COS
Michael Floeser, GCCIS
Lisa Greenwood, CET
Thomas Hanney, CMS
Aaron Kelstone, NTID
Lori Marra, CLA
Heidi Nickisher, CAD
Michael Riordan, CAD
Elena Sommers, CLA
Marissa Tirone, CAD

Jennifer Bailey, KGCOE
Kari Cameron, CLA
Birgit Coffey, COS
Lisa Greenwood, CET
Larisa Buhin Loncar, RIT Croatia
Daniel E. Krutz
Roy Melton, KGCOE
Jeffrey L. Mills, COS
Patricia Ann Poteat, CET
Ernest Roszkowski, NTID
Wilson De Lima Silva, CLA
Ulrike Stroszeck, CLA
Karen vanMeenen, CLA
Teresa Wolcott, CET