FALL SEMESTER 2019 (Term ID: 2191)
August 17-19, 2019 International Student Move-in and Orientation
August 20-25 New Student Move-in and Orientation
August 26 (Monday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period †
August 31 Saturday classes begin
September 2 (Monday) Labor Day - University closed
September 3 (Tuesday) Last day of Add/Drop period †
September 4 (Wednesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
September 25-26 University Wide Career Fair and Interview Day
October 14-15 October Break - no classes - University open
November 8 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" *
November 27 No classes - University closes at 2 p.m.
November 28-29 Thanksgiving Holiday - University closed
November 30 No Saturday classes
December 2 Day, evening, and online classes resume
December 7 Saturday classes resume
Last Saturday classes
December 9 (Monday) Last day, evening, and online classes
December 10 Reading Day
Dec. 11,12,13,16,17,18 Final exams
December 19 (Thursday, 10 a.m.) Residence Halls close
Dec. 19 - Jan. 12 Break between Fall and Spring Semesters
December 20 (Friday) Final grades due
December 24 (Tuesday) University closes at 2 p.m.
Dec. 25 - Jan. 1 University closed
Back to Top
SPRING SEMESTER 2020 (Term ID: 2195)
January 9, 2020 (Thursday) Residence Halls and the RIT Inn open
January 10, 2020 (Friday) All other RIT housing opens
January 13 (Monday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period †
January 18 Saturday classes begin
January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day - no classes - University open
January 21 (Tuesday) Last day of Add/Drop period †
January 22 First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
February 26-27 University Wide Career Fair and Interview Day
March 8-15 Spring Break - University open
March 14 No Saturday classes
March 16 Day, evening, and online classes resume
March 21 Saturday classes resume
April 3 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" *
April 25 Last Saturday classes
April 27 (Monday) Last day, evening, and online classes
April 28 Reading Day
April 29,30, May 1,4,5,6 Final exams
May 8 (Friday) Final grades due
May 8 (Friday) Convocation and Commencement ceremonies
May 9 (Saturday) Commencement ceremonies
May 7-13 Break between Spring Semester and Summer Term
Back to Top
12-week SUMMER Term (Term ID: 2198)
May 14 (Thursday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period †
May 16 Saturday classes begin
May 21 (Thursday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
May 22 (Friday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
May 25 (Monday) Memorial Day - University closed
July 3 (Friday) Independence Day observed - University closed
July 20 (Monday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" **
August 1 Last Saturday classes
August 5 (Wednesday) Last day, evening, and online classes
August 6 Reading Day
August 7,10,11 Final exams
August 13 (Thursday) Final grades due
August 12-23 Break between Summer Term and Fall Semester
Back to Top
6-week SUMMER Term (Term ID: 2198) (1st six weeks)
May 14 (Thursday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period
May 16 Saturday classes begin
May 18 (Monday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
May 19 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
May 25 (Monday) Memorial Day - University closed
June 16 (Tuesday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" **
June 20 Last Saturday classes
June 24 (Wednesday) Last day of classes
June 25, 26 Final exams
June 29 (Monday) Final grades due
Back to Top
6-week SUMMER Term (Term ID: 2198) (2nd six weeks)
June 29 (Monday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period
July 1 (Wednesday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
July 3 (Friday) Independence Day observed - University closed
July 7 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
July 29 (Wednesday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W" **
August 5 (Wednesday) Last day, evening, and online classes
August 6 Reading Day
August 7,10,11 Final exams
August 13 (Thursday) Final grades due
August 12-23 Break between Summer Term and Fall Semester
Back to Top
FALL SEMESTER (Term ID: 2201)
August 18-23 New Student Orientation (tentative)
August 24 Day, evening, and online classes begin
September 7 (Monday) Labor Day - no classes - University closed

† The Add/Drop period is the first seven class days, excluding Sundays and holidays, of the Fall, Spring, and full Summer terms.

* Friday of the 11th week of classes.

** 80% point in time.

Revised 5/7/2019