Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee


Mandate from Policy B2.0

The Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion shall be responsible for reviewing and, where needed, making policy recommendations concerning diversity, equity, and inclusion, especially regarding the importance of such policies for academic affairs; it shall serve as a clearing house and sponsor for recommendations that can enhance RIT’s success at addressing diversity, equity, and inclusion at all levels; it shall consider ways in which Academic Senate’s other standing committees, especially its curricular bodies, can more successfully include and implement diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives; it shall work closely with the Division of Diversity and Inclusion to foster a coordinated and collaborative connection between the work of that division and the work and support of academic governance.

The committee shall consist of one faculty member per college, each to be elected by their collegial faculty; one representative (and one alternate) from Student Government (non-voting); one representative from Staff Council (non-voting); the NTID Director of Diversity and Inclusion or their delegate (ex-officio, non-voting); and the RIT Vice President & Associate Provost for Diversity and Inclusion or their delegate (ex-officio, non-voting).

Charges for AY 2023-24

Self-Charge Recommendations

  1. To consider strategies for infusing DEI into the curriculum (related to 22/23 Charge #1). No rationale provided
  2. To review & assess the new COACHE results with respect to DEI and identify areas for improvement.

Continuing Charge

  1. Gather information about the kinds of DEI-related activities that faculty include in annual reports of their activities, the ways in which DHs recognize DEI-related activity in annual performance appraisals, and DHs understanding of the role that DEI-related activities play in faculty members’ contribution to the University’s mission. Based on this information, work with FAC, the Administration, and other entities on campus as needed to develop and propose methods to enable faculty to identify and successfully pursue opportunities to engage in DEI-related work, and to receive appropriate recognition and rewards for their DEI-related work. Report to the Senate with recommendations as appropriate


Elisabetta DAmanda

College of Liberal Arts

Co-Chair AY 2023-2024

2023-2025 (2nd Term)

Konstantinos Papangelis

Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences

Co-Chair AY 2023-2024

2023-2025 (2nd term)

Jessica Contreras

National Technical Institute for the Deaf

Staff Council Rep

Holly Dickens

College of Engineering Technology

2022-2024 (2nd term)

Alissa De Wit-Paul

Golisano Institute for Sustainability

2022-2024 (1st term)

Hamad Ghazle

College of Health Sciences and Technology

2022-2024 (2nd term)

Hany Ghoneim

Kate Gleason College of Engineering

2022-2024 (1st term)

Malarvizhi Hirudayaraj

Saunders College of Business

Director of AdvanceRIT

Open Term

Matthew Houdek

Academic Affairs

2022-2024 (1st term)

Keith Jenkins

Diversity and Inclusion

VP & Assoc. Provost for Diversity and Inclusion

Open Term

Rachel Mazique

National Technical Institute for the Deaf

2023-2025 (2nd term)

Lea Michel

College of Science

Dina Newman

College of Science

At-large representative

2022-2024 (1st term)


Juan Noguera

College of Art and Design

2023-2025 (1st Term)

Karen Tobin

National Technical Institute for the Deaf

NTID Director of Diversity and Inclusion's Delegate

Open Term

Danell Francis Headshot

Danell Francis

Student Government Representative