Presidential Awards for Outstanding Staff

These university-wide awards recognize the contributions of staff members and teams whose work has a major impact on the university through their performance, promotion of teamwork and inspiration of excellence in other members of the RIT Community.

Nominees must be regular employees of the university excluding divisional vice presidents and chief officers. Regular staff employees of RIT are designated by the Oracle classification “staff.exe” and are represented by one of the six Staff Council voting blocks. The full Staff Recognition Awards Policy E12.4 can be found on the RIT University Policies website.

This award recognizes a staff member with three years or less of service to the university.
Learn more about the Rising Star award

This award recognizes staff members who have excelled in the performance of their duties as well as promoted team work and inspired excellence in others. Four awards are given annually to any combination of individuals and/or teams.
Learn more about the Staff Excellence Awards

This award recognizes a Staff member who consistently demonstrates a high degree of excellence, professionalism, and integrity in the performance of his/her duties and who has proven his/her willingness to extend himself/herself to help other members of the RIT community. This award was named to honor Dancy Duffus, RIT Trustee Emeritus, who has long been a staunch supporter of RIT staff.
Learn more about the Dancy Duffus Outstanding Citizenship Award

This award recognizes an individual with at least 25 years of service as an RIT Staff member and was created in honor of Dr. Albert J. Simone, RIT President Emeritus, on the 25th anniversary of the creation of RIT Staff Council.
Learn more about the Albert J. Simone Legacy Award

This award recognizes staff members for their significant contributions to enhance diversity at RIT and is administered by the Office of Diversity and Inclusion.  Nominations will be accepted through November 30, 2022.

Learn more about the Isaac L. Jordan, Sr. Staff Pluralism Award