Council for the Representation and Engagement of Women Faculty (CREW)

The Council for the Representation and Engagement of Women Faculty serves as an advisory council to the provost in support of the career success of women faculty at RIT.

Promote Faculty Advancement and Research Success

Our mission is to support, retain, and promote career success of women faculty at RIT. To achieve this mission, the team will:

Identify and support effective strategies and activities that promote career success of women faculty

Assist women faculty in finding and developing networks

Promote leadership development and mentoring activities for women faculty

Provide support needed for women faculty to be successful through tenure and promotion

Communicate and collaborate with other groups concerned with gender and diversity

Identify the issues that women faculty face and develop actions to address these issues

Facilitate awareness among administration and the university regarding these issues

Make recommendations to the Provost on studies or actions needed to address particular issues needed to create an academic environment that fosters the academic success of women faculty at RIT

Each college has a faculty representative to server on this council.

Each college nominates a faculty representative to serve on this council. They are then invited by the provost to join CREW.

Betsy Dell


Heidi Nickisher

Principal Lecturer
School of Art
College of Art and Design

Jeanne Christman

Associate Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology
College of Engineering Technology

Elizabeth Ruder

Associate Professor
Nutrition Program
Institute of Health Sciences and Technology

Kelly Norris Martin

Associate Professor
School of Communication
College of Liberal Arts

Kara Maki

Associate Professor
School of Mathematical Sciences
College of Science

Sharon Mason

School of Information
Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences

Callie Babbitt

Department of Sustainability
Golisano Institute for Sustainability

Sonia Lopez Alarcon

Associate Professor
Department of Computer Engineering
Kate Gleason College of Engineering

Kim Kurz

Associate Professor
Department of ASL and Interpreting Education
National Technical Institute for the Deaf

Makini Beck

Assistant Professor
School of Individualized Study
Academic Affairs