André Hudson named AAAS fellow

Dean of the College of Science has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science


André Hudson has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

RIT College of Science Dean André Hudson has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), as announced by the organization’s council.

Hudson was honored for “distinguished contributions to the field of amino acid biochemistry and for incorporating principles of DEI into research practices to advance pluralism in STEM education through participation of underrepresented students.”

The AAAS elects members into fellowship every year who show efforts on behalf of the advancement of science, or its applications, that are scientifically or socially distinguished. Fellows include scientists, engineers, and innovators with achievements in academia, industry, and government. The AAAS fellowship program began in 1874.

“Being elected as an AAAS fellow is an honor,” said Hudson. “I thank my family and colleagues at RIT for their love, support, mentorship, and guidance. I would also like to thank my mentors, especially Dr. Thomas Leustek, professor at Rutgers University, who has championed me along the way and those who supported my nomination. I certainly would not be the teacher-scholar and administrator I am today without his love and support over the last 24 years. I also would like to thank the fantastic high school, undergraduate, graduate, and post-doc scholars I’ve worked with.”

Hudson’s main focus of research is biochemistry and microbiology, specifically enzymology and genomics. He has earned more than $3 million in federally funded grants as both a PI and co-PI, published more than 90 peer-reviewed articles, presented at numerous conferences and invited talks both nationally and internationally, and is a sought-after media expert. Since joining RIT in 2008, he has served on numerous committees at the university and was promoted to dean after a national search in 2023.

The AAAS describes itself as a boldly inclusive, mobilized, and global scientific community that ignites, enables, and celebrates scientific excellence and science-informed decisions and actions. The organization is a leading publisher of research through its Science family of journals. AAAS fellows have included well-known names such as Ellen Ochoa, Thomas Edison, and W.E.B. DuBois.

According to the AAAS database, Hudson is the only AAAS fellow currently at RIT and the first and only member of RIT to receive the distinction since Mark Ellingson, who was named a fellow in 1941 when RIT was known as Rochester Athenaeum and Mechanics Institute. Ellingson went on to become president of RIT in 1936, serving in that role until 1969.

The recipients will be acknowledged at the annual Fellows Forum and will be invited to a gala celebrating the 150th anniversary of the AAAS Fellows program in Washington, D.C., in September.

Recommended News